Journal profile · Computer Science-Computer Science Applications
BMJ Health and Care Informatics
ISSN 2632-1009 · BMJ Publishing Group · United Kingdom
BMJ Health and Care Informatics: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 6.2 (journal website); fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 183 days to acceptance (105 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 24% (journal website); 116 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
BMJ Health and Care Informatics is published by BMJ Publishing Group and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Electronic Health Records Systems, Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare and Education and Mobile Health and mHealth Applications, together about 41.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Health Information Management. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Acceptance rate:24%Time to first decision:10 days*Time to first decision with review:90 days*Citescore:6.6Impact Factor:6.22025 total content views:119,436More journal metricsHow we get these metrics*median number of days Aims & scope Editorial Board Ownership Journal information Journal Statistics 2025 Contact information For Authors To advertise Rights and permissions Affiliations Related
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Computer Science-Computer Science Applications
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Electronic Health Records SystemsHealth Professions18.7%
- Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare and EducationMedicine14.5%
- Mobile Health and mHealth ApplicationsHealth Professions8.3%
- Machine Learning in HealthcareComputer Science8.2%
- Telemedicine and Telehealth ImplementationMedicine5.5%
- Sepsis Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine4.6%
- Digital Mental Health InterventionsPsychology4%
- Medical Coding and Health InformationHealth Professions3.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Health Care Sciences & Services | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Medical Informatics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Health Care Sciences & Services | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Medical Informatics | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 6.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 6.6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.4LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.72LetPub ·
- h-index
- 49OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 216OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 5.3OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 597 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 86 | 86 | 55 |
| 2025 | 116 | 116 | 450 |
| 2024 | 57 | 57 | 867 |
| 2023 | 74 | 74 | 1,311 |
| 2022 | 48 | 48 | 1,061 |
| 2021 | 74 | 74 | 2,297 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
183 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 130 days – 269 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 21 days (106 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 209 days
- Sample
- 105 articles with submission and acceptance dates (216 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 18 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 24%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 10 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 33 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | GBP 2,390 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | GBP 1,800 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 1,948 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Article types accepted11
- communicationCommunicationLength not stated
- editorialEditorialLength not stated
- education reportEducation reportLength not stated
- implementer reportImplementer reportLength not stated
- letterLetterLength not stated
- original researchOriginal researchLength not stated
- perspectivePerspectiveLength not stated
- protocol (including systematic review protocols)Protocol (including systematic review protocols)Length not stated
- reviewReviewLength not stated
- short reportShort reportLength not stated
- voicesVoicesLength not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- BMJ Publishing Group
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2632-1009
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about BMJ Health and Care Informatics
What CAS zone is BMJ Health and Care Informatics in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, BMJ Health and Care Informatics is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Health Care Sciences & Services / Medical Informatics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of BMJ Health and Care Informatics?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 6.2; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 6.6, h-index 49.
How long does peer review take at BMJ Health and Care Informatics?
Based on the dates recorded on 105 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 183 days (interquartile range 130–269 days); authors report an average review time of about 18 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 24%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index BMJ Health and Care Informatics?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, BMJ Health and Care Informatics is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is BMJ Health and Care Informatics open access, and what is the APC?
BMJ Health and Care Informatics is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .