Journal profile · Computer Science-Computer Science Applications

BMJ Health and Care Informatics

ISSN 2632-1009 · BMJ Publishing Group · United Kingdom

BMJ Health and Care Informatics: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 6.2 (journal website); fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 183 days to acceptance (105 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 24% (journal website); 116 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.

Impact factor6.2From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 3 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time183 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 105 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCCharged, amount not publishedFully open access
Acceptance24%From the journal's website
Articles per year1162025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

BMJ Health and Care Informatics is published by BMJ Publishing Group and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Electronic Health Records Systems, Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare and Education and Mobile Health and mHealth Applications, together about 41.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Health Information Management. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Acceptance rate:24%Time to first decision:10 days*Time to first decision with review:90 days*Citescore:6.6Impact Factor:6.22025 total content views:119,436More journal metricsHow we get these metrics*median number of days Aims & scope Editorial Board Ownership Journal information Journal Statistics 2025 Contact information For Authors To advertise Rights and permissions Affiliations Related

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Computer Science-Computer Science Applications

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Electronic Health Records SystemsHealth Professions18.7%
  2. Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare and EducationMedicine14.5%
  3. Mobile Health and mHealth ApplicationsHealth Professions8.3%
  4. Machine Learning in HealthcareComputer Science8.2%
  5. Telemedicine and Telehealth ImplementationMedicine5.5%
  6. Sepsis Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine4.6%
  7. Digital Mental Health InterventionsPsychology4%
  8. Medical Coding and Health InformationHealth Professions3.5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorHealth Care Sciences & ServicesZone 4
MinorMedical InformaticsZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorHealth Care Sciences & ServicesZone 3
MinorMedical InformaticsZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
6.2Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
6.6LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
6.6Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
1.4LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.72LetPub ·
h-index
49OpenAlex ·
i10-index
216OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
5.3OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 597 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026868655
2025116116450
20245757867
202374741,311
202248481,061
202174742,297

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

183 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 130 days – 269 days

Acceptance to online
median 21 days (106 articles)
Submission to online
median 209 days
Sample
105 articles with submission and acceptance dates (216 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 18 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
24%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
10 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 33 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJGBP 2,390YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexGBP 1,800——
LetPubGBP 1,948Yes—
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted11
  1. communicationCommunicationLength not stated
  2. editorialEditorialLength not stated
  3. education reportEducation reportLength not stated
  4. implementer reportImplementer reportLength not stated
  5. letterLetterLength not stated
  6. original researchOriginal researchLength not stated
  7. perspectivePerspectiveLength not stated
  8. protocol (including systematic review protocols)Protocol (including systematic review protocols)Length not stated
  9. reviewReviewLength not stated
  10. short reportShort reportLength not stated
  11. voicesVoicesLength not stated
Publisher website

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
BMJ Publishing Group
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
2632-1009
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about BMJ Health and Care Informatics

What CAS zone is BMJ Health and Care Informatics in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, BMJ Health and Care Informatics is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Health Care Sciences & Services / Medical Informatics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of BMJ Health and Care Informatics?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 6.2; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 6.6, h-index 49.

How long does peer review take at BMJ Health and Care Informatics?

Based on the dates recorded on 105 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 183 days (interquartile range 130–269 days); authors report an average review time of about 18 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 24%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Which databases index BMJ Health and Care Informatics?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, BMJ Health and Care Informatics is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.

Is BMJ Health and Care Informatics open access, and what is the APC?

BMJ Health and Care Informatics is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .