Journal profile · MEDICINE, GENERAL & INTERNAL

BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine

ISSN 2515-446X · eISSN 2515-4478 · BMJ PUBLISHING GROUP · ENGLAND · Bi-monthly · Founded 2018

BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 10.47; hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 105 days (submission to first decision, publisher); 84 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor10.47Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 2 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 2 · Medicine
Review time105 daysPublisher-reported, submission to first decision (includes desk rejections)
APCCharged, amount not publishedHybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year842025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine is published by BMJ PUBLISHING GROUP and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Meta-analysis and systematic reviews, Health Sciences Research and Education and Health Systems, Economic Evaluations, Quality of Life, together about 31% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Publishes original research, insights and opinions on evidence-based research. Focuses on the tools, methods, and concepts that are central to practising evidence-based medicine.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): MEDICINE, GENERAL & INTERNAL

Editor-in-chief Juan VAPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 6%); most named United Kingdom 4, Chile 3, India 2, Canada 2, South Africa 2 (17 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Meta-analysis and systematic reviewsDecision Sciences15.4%
  2. Health Sciences Research and EducationHealth Professions8.2%
  3. Health Systems, Economic Evaluations, Quality of LifeEconomics, Econometrics and Finance7.5%
  4. Blood Pressure and Hypertension StudiesMedicine4.7%
  5. Clinical practice guidelines implementationMedicine4.5%
  6. Venous Thromboembolism Diagnosis and ManagementMedicine4.3%
  7. Asthma and respiratory diseasesMedicine4.2%
  8. Atrial Fibrillation Management and OutcomesMedicine3.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorMedicine, General & InternalZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorMedicine, General & InternalZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorMedicine, General & InternalZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
10.47LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
10.8Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
10.8LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
10.8Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
2.25LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
2.34LetPub ·
h-index
71OpenAlex ·
i10-index
529OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
6.51OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
4.6%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
49.57%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
47LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 4,595 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026361812
20258447450
20248049839
202380441,398
202258321,649
202168251,413

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Submission to first decision
105 daysPublisher website ·

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted9
  1. analysisAnalysisLength not stated
  2. correspondenceCorrespondenceLength not stated
  3. editorialEditorialLength not stated
  4. educationEducationLength not stated
  5. letterLetterLength not stated
  6. opinionOpinionLength not stated
  7. original research (including evidence synthesis content)Original research (including evidence synthesis content)Length not stated
  8. patient voicesPatient voicesLength not stated
  9. research methods and reportingResearch methods and reportingLength not stated
Publisher website

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
BMJ PUBLISHING GROUP
Country or region
ENGLAND
Language
English
Frequency
Bi-monthly
Founded
2018
ISSN
2515-446X
Electronic ISSN
2515-4478
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine

What CAS zone is BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Medicine, General & Internal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 10.47; CiteScore 10.8, h-index 71.

How long does peer review take at BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine?

The publisher reports about 105 days (submission to first decision); first decisions include desk rejections. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine based?

Of the 17 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 6%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (4), Chile (3) and India (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Is BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine open access, and what is the APC?

BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .