Journal profile · RESPIRATORY SYSTEM
BMC Pulmonary Medicine
ISSN 1471-2466 · BioMed Central · ENGLAND · Founded 2001
BMC Pulmonary Medicine: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.05; fully open access; APC about USD 3,190; median 148 days to acceptance (168 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 608 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
BMC Pulmonary Medicine is published by BioMed Central and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) Research, Interstitial Lung Diseases and Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis and Asthma and respiratory diseases, together about 36.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Pulmonary and Respiratory Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
BMC Pulmonary Medicine is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of the prevention, diagnosis and management of pulmonary and associated disorders, as well as related molecular genetics, pathophysiology, and epidemiology. Topics covered include: Asthma and allergic disorders Basic science and experimental pulmonology Cancer COPD and occupational lung disease Epidemiology and public health Infectious, rare and idiopathic pulmonary diseases Respiratory critical care As a BMC Series journal, BMC Pulmonary Medicine does not make editorial decisions based on the perceived interest or potential impact of a study. Manuscripts are considered for publication if they are scientifically valid. For research articles, this includes having a clearly defined and sound research question, appropriate methodology and analysis, and adherence to community-agreed standards relevant to the field.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): RESPIRATORY SYSTEM
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) ResearchMedicine17.9%
- Interstitial Lung Diseases and Idiopathic Pulmonary FibrosisMedicine9.8%
- Asthma and respiratory diseasesMedicine9.1%
- Respiratory Support and MechanismsMedicine6.8%
- Lung Cancer Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine5.7%
- Delphi Technique in ResearchSocial Sciences4.5%
- Cystic Fibrosis Research AdvancesMedicine3.9%
- Respiratory and Cough-Related ResearchMedicine3.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Respiratory System | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Respiratory System | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Respiratory System | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEEmbaseCASCAB AbstractsPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.05LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3.1Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.9LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.9LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.12LetPub ·
- h-index
- 49LetPub ·
- h-index
- 109OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2,513OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.88OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 3.2%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 598LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 4,200,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 5,376 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 668 | 668 | 103 |
| 2025 | 608 | 608 | 1,667 |
| 2024 | 639 | 639 | 3,737 |
| 2023 | 517 | 517 | 5,410 |
| 2022 | 493 | 493 | 7,124 |
| 2021 | 425 | 425 | 7,998 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
148 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 88 days – 336 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 11 days (168 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 175 days
- Sample
- 168 articles with submission and acceptance dates (1,425 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly easyLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 14 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 23 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Open peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 2,690 / USD 3,190 / GBP 2,390 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 3,090 / EUR 2,590 / GBP 2,290 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 2,090 / USD 2,890 / EUR 2,390 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 2,390 / USD 3,190 / EUR 2,690 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers3, by deadline
Publisher websiteArticle types accepted9
- case reportResearch article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matters Arising Comment Systematic ReviewLength not stated
- commentResearch article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matters Arising Comment Systematic ReviewLength not stated
- database articleResearch article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matters Arising Comment Systematic ReviewLength not stated
- matters arisingResearch article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matters Arising Comment Systematic ReviewLength not stated
- research articleResearch article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matters Arising Comment Systematic ReviewLength not stated
- reviewResearch article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matters Arising Comment Systematic ReviewLength not stated
- software articleResearch article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matters Arising Comment Systematic ReviewLength not stated
- study protocolResearch article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matters Arising Comment Systematic ReviewLength not stated
- systematic reviewResearch article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matters Arising Comment Systematic ReviewLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript
The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Licensing and copyright
Open access articles published under CC BY-NC-ND or CC BY licences; authors retain copyright. Model summary
Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. BMC Pulmonary Medicine articles are published open access under a CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Benefits of open access
Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- BioMed Central
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Founded
- 2001
- ISSN
- 1471-2466
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about BMC Pulmonary Medicine
What CAS zone is BMC Pulmonary Medicine in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, BMC Pulmonary Medicine is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Respiratory System. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of BMC Pulmonary Medicine?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.05; CiteScore 4.9, h-index 109.
How long does peer review take at BMC Pulmonary Medicine?
Based on the dates recorded on 168 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 148 days (interquartile range 88–336 days); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index BMC Pulmonary Medicine?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, BMC Pulmonary Medicine is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, Embase, CAS and CAB Abstracts; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is BMC Pulmonary Medicine open access, and what is the APC?
BMC Pulmonary Medicine is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,190.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .