Journal profile · DENTISTRY, ORAL SURGERY & MEDICINE

BMC Oral Health

ISSN 1472-6831 · BioMed Central · ENGLAND · Founded 2001

BMC Oral Health: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.82; fully open access; APC about USD 3,290; median 126 days to acceptance (198 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 2,208 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor3.82Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 2 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time126 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 198 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 3,290Fully open access
AcceptanceEasyCommunity average
Articles per year2,2082025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

BMC Oral Health is published by BioMed Central and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Dental Health and Care Utilization, Oral microbiology and periodontitis research and Dental materials and restorations, together about 34.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Oral Surgery and Orthodontics. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

BMC Oral Health is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of the prevention, diagnosis and management of disorders of the mouth, teeth and gums, as well as related molecular genetics, pathophysiology, and epidemiology. The journal welcomes submissions covering the following broad areas of research: Digital Dentistry Clinical Oral Healthcare Dental techniques: tools, materials and surgical research Epidemiology of oral health Oral Microbiology Delivery, management and promotion of oral health and dental care As a BMC Series journal, BMC Oral Health does not make editorial decisions based on the perceived interest or potential impact of a study. Manuscripts are considered for publication if they are scientifically valid. For research articles, this includes having a clearly defined and sound research question, appropriate methodology and analysis, and adherence to community-agreed standards relevant to the field.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): DENTISTRY, ORAL SURGERY & MEDICINE

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Dental Health and Care UtilizationDentistry12.8%
  2. Oral microbiology and periodontitis researchDentistry12.1%
  3. Dental materials and restorationsDentistry9.6%
  4. Endodontics and Root Canal TreatmentsDentistry7.2%
  5. Dental Radiography and ImagingDentistry6.5%
  6. Orthodontics and Dentofacial OrthopedicsDentistry6.4%
  7. Dental Implant Techniques and OutcomesDentistry5.3%
  8. Dental Erosion and TreatmentDentistry4.9%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorDentistry, Oral Surgery & MedicineZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

MEDLINECASCAB AbstractsPublisher website

Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
3.82LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
3.8Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
4Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
4.6LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.94LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.56LetPub ·
h-index
40LetPub ·
h-index
117OpenAlex ·
i10-index
3,768OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
3.77OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
10.5%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
99.87%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
2,185LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
8,800,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 10,410 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20262,3792,379554
20252,2082,2088,457
20241,5801,58014,236
20231,0371,03714,017
202266266211,485
202167367314,662

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

126 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 84 days – 188 days

Acceptance to online
median 11 days (199 articles)
Submission to online
median 143 days
Sample
198 articles with submission and acceptance dates (4,959 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
6–12 weeksLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
EasyLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
16 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 22 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Open peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJEUR 2,790 / USD 3,290 / GBP 2,490YesCC BY, CC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexUSD 3,190 / EUR 2,690 / GBP 2,390——
LetPubGBP 2,290 / USD 3,090 / EUR 2,590Yes—
Publisher websiteGBP 2,490 / USD 3,290 / EUR 2,790——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Open calls for papers3, by deadline
  1. Oral cancer: treatment and patient outcomesDeadline
  2. Advanced dental implantsDeadline
  3. Peri-implant diseasesDeadline
Publisher website
Article types accepted9
  1. case reportFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matter…Length not stated
  2. commentFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matter…Length not stated
  3. database articleFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matter…Length not stated
  4. matters arisingFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matter…Length not stated
  5. research articleFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matter…Length not stated
  6. reviewFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matter…Length not stated
  7. software articleFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matter…Length not stated
  8. study protocolFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matter…Length not stated
  9. systematic reviewFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research article Database article Software article Case report Study protocol Review Matter…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript

The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Licensing and copyright

Open access articles published under CC BY-NC-ND or CC BY licences; authors retain copyright. Model summary

Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. BMC Oral Health articles are published open access under a CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution Non-Com…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Benefits of open access

Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
BioMed Central
Country or region
ENGLAND
Language
English
Founded
2001
ISSN
1472-6831
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about BMC Oral Health

What CAS zone is BMC Oral Health in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, BMC Oral Health is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of BMC Oral Health?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.82; CiteScore 4.6, h-index 117.

How long does peer review take at BMC Oral Health?

Based on the dates recorded on 198 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 126 days (interquartile range 84–188 days); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Which databases index BMC Oral Health?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, BMC Oral Health is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, CAS and CAB Abstracts; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is BMC Oral Health open access, and what is the APC?

BMC Oral Health is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,290.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .