Journal profile · Medicine, General & Internal
BMC Medicine
ISSN 1741-7015 · BioMed Central · ENGLAND · Monthly · Founded 2003
BMC Medicine: CAS Zone 1 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 8.72; fully open access; APC about USD 4,490; median 175 days to acceptance (171 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly hard; 768 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
BMC Medicine is published by BioMed Central and is in Zone 1 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Nutritional Studies and Diet, Malaria Research and Control and Genetic Associations and Epidemiology, together about 17.7% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
BMC Medicine is the flagship medical journal of the BMC series. An open access, transparent peer-reviewed general medical journal, BMC Medicine publishes outstanding and influential research in all areas of clinical practice, translational medicine, medical and health advances, public health, global health, policy, and general topics of interest to the biomedical and sociomedical professional communities.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine, General & Internal
Editor-in-chief Lin LeePublisher website
Editorial board by country: 257 in mainland China (about 30%); most named Mainland China 257, United States 132, United Kingdom 94, Hong Kong, China 40, Australia 32 (849 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Nutritional Studies and DietMedicine6.2%
- Malaria Research and ControlMedicine5.9%
- Genetic Associations and EpidemiologyBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.6%
- Chronic Disease Management StrategiesMedicine4.8%
- Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and LipoproteinsMedicine4.6%
- Meta-analysis and systematic reviewsDecision Sciences4.5%
- Gestational Diabetes Research and ManagementMedicine4.5%
- COVID-19 epidemiological studiesMathematics4.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Medicine, General & Internal | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Medicine, General & Internal | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 1
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 1 |
| Minor | Medicine, General & Internal | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEEmbaseCASPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 8.72LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 8.7Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 9.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 13.1LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 1.6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 2.86LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 2.33LetPub ·
- h-index
- 108LetPub ·
- h-index
- 263OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 4,159OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 7.74OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 1.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 99.94%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 742LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 2,025Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 10,400,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 6,217 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 663 | 663 | 408 |
| 2025 | 768 | 768 | 5,368 |
| 2024 | 608 | 608 | 10,012 |
| 2023 | 512 | 512 | 15,822 |
| 2022 | 501 | 501 | 20,630 |
| 2021 | 326 | 326 | 15,839 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
175 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 143 days – 224 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 13 days (171 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 194 days
- Sample
- 171 articles with submission and acceptance dates (1,608 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 4–8 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly hardLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 10 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Open peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 3,690 / USD 4,490 / GBP 3,190 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 4,190 / EUR 3,390 / GBP 2,990 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 2,790 / USD 3,890 / EUR 3,190 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 3,190 / USD 4,490 / EUR 3,690 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers3, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted10
- commentResearch articles Software articles Debates Reviews Guidelines Forums Editorials Registered Reports Matters Arising CommentLength not stated
- debatesResearch articles Software articles Debates Reviews Guidelines Forums Editorials Registered Reports Matters Arising CommentLength not stated
- editorialsResearch articles Software articles Debates Reviews Guidelines Forums Editorials Registered Reports Matters Arising CommentLength not stated
- forumsResearch articles Software articles Debates Reviews Guidelines Forums Editorials Registered Reports Matters Arising CommentLength not stated
- guidelinesResearch articles Software articles Debates Reviews Guidelines Forums Editorials Registered Reports Matters Arising CommentLength not stated
- matters arisingResearch articles Software articles Debates Reviews Guidelines Forums Editorials Registered Reports Matters Arising CommentLength not stated
- registered reportsResearch articles Software articles Debates Reviews Guidelines Forums Editorials Registered Reports Matters Arising CommentLength not stated
- research articlesResearch articles Software articles Debates Reviews Guidelines Forums Editorials Registered Reports Matters Arising CommentLength not stated
- reviewsResearch articles Software articles Debates Reviews Guidelines Forums Editorials Registered Reports Matters Arising CommentLength not stated
- software articlesResearch articles Software articles Debates Reviews Guidelines Forums Editorials Registered Reports Matters Arising CommentLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript
The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Licensing and copyright
Open access under CC BY-NC-ND or CC BY licence; authors retain copyright. Model summary
Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. BMC Medicine articles are published open access under a CC BY-NC-ND (Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commer…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Benefits of open access
Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- BioMed Central
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 2003
- ISSN
- 1741-7015
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about BMC Medicine
What CAS zone is BMC Medicine in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, BMC Medicine is in Zone 1 of Medicine, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Medicine, General & Internal; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of BMC Medicine?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 8.72; CiteScore 13.1, h-index 263.
How long does peer review take at BMC Medicine?
Based on the dates recorded on 171 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 175 days (interquartile range 143–224 days); authors report an average review time of 4–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly hard”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of BMC Medicine based?
Of the 849 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 257 (about 30%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (257), United States (132) and United Kingdom (94). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index BMC Medicine?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, BMC Medicine is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, Embase and CAS; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is BMC Medicine open access, and what is the APC?
BMC Medicine is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 4,490.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .