Journal profile · Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics-Pharmaceutical Science
BioImpacts
ISSN 2228-5652 · eISSN 2228-5660 · Tabriz University of Medical Sciences · IRAN
BioImpacts: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.42; diamond open access (no APC); no APC; median 106 days to acceptance (89 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 19% (journal website); 66 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
BioImpacts is published by Tabriz University of Medical Sciences and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Nanoparticle-Based Drug Delivery, Mesenchymal stem cell research and MicroRNA in disease regulation, together about 20.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Molecular Biology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
BioImpacts (BI) "2228-5652; eISSN: 2228-5660" is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary international journal for life sciences. BI publishes original research articles, reviews, commentaries, and visions/reflections dealing with all aspects of biological and biomedical research at molecular, cellular, functional, and transnational dimensions. Particular interests are given to advanced approaches in the context of “omics” (genomics, proteomics, cytomics, and metabolomics) technologies, molecular/cellular imaging approaches, and gene/cell therapy. The further aim of BI is to emphasize the transdisciplinarity of the biomedical sciences with nanotechnology, biotechnology, and cell/tissue engineering fields towards molecular detection/sensing and molecular therapy. In addition, BI welcomes the translation of basic biomedical/pharmaceutical sciences towards application in the clinic. Futuristic conceptual hypotheses and modeling that integrate various fields with biomedical/pharmaceutical sciences are encouraged to be submitted.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics-Pharmaceutical Science
Editor-in-chief Khosro AdibkiaPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Nanoparticle-Based Drug DeliveryMaterials Science8.9%
- Mesenchymal stem cell researchMedicine6.1%
- MicroRNA in disease regulationBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.4%
- Graphene and Nanomaterials ApplicationsEngineering5.4%
- Extracellular vesicles in diseaseBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.2%
- RNA Interference and Gene DeliveryBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.9%
- Bone Tissue Engineering MaterialsEngineering4.7%
- Advanced Drug Delivery SystemsPharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics4.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pharmacology & Pharmacy | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pharmacology & Pharmacy | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Engineering Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Engineering | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Pharmacology & Pharmacy | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.42LetPub ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.2LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.57LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.66LetPub ·
- h-index
- 46OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 236OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.98OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 4%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 63LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 559 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 34 | 34 | 12 |
| 2025 | 66 | 66 | 191 |
| 2024 | 80 | 80 | 334 |
| 2023 | 59 | 59 | 418 |
| 2022 | 49 | 49 | 476 |
| 2021 | 32 | 32 | 370 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
106 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 68 days – 194 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 56 days (89 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 194 days
- Sample
- 89 articles with submission and acceptance dates (120 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 5 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 19%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2024
- 19%Publisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 5 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Unspecified peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Page charges
- No page charges
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare10 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 3–6
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 8,000 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Required
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Required
- Cover letter
- Required
- Not considered
- Acknowledgments; Funding source; Ethical statement; Competing interests; Authors contribution
Article types accepted13, with length limits
- commentaries or notesCommentaries/Notes (up to ~1500 words, including tabLength not stated
- commentaryfield, which may impose great impacts. Commentaries or Notes Commentaries/Notes (up to ~1500 words, including tables, figures, and references) are the explanamain text ≤ 1,500 words
- full original researchesA full-length original research article (up to ~8000 words (without references), including tables (up to 3), figures (up to 8), and references) presents novel f…Length not stated
- in focus reviewsThe “In Focus Reviews” (up to ~8000 words, including tables, figures, and references) present a collection of full papers and/or other article types by differen…Length not stated
- minireviewsMinireviews are sharply focused, well-documented examinations of timely related issues (up to ~4000 words, including tables, figures, and references).Length not stated
- original research articleFull Original Researches A full-length original research article (up to ~8000 words (without references), including tables (up to 3), figures (main text ≤ 8,000 words
- perspectivehe biological impacts and consequences. Perspectives A Perspective is a lightly referenced scholarly opinion-based article (up to ~1500 words, including tables,…main text ≤ 1,500 words
- perspectivesA Perspective is a lightly referenced scholarly opinion-based article (up to ~1500 words, including tables, figures, and references) about current or future dir…Length not stated
- reviewinterests" and "Authors contribution"). Reviews A full-length critical review [10000-15000 words, including tables (up to 3), figures (up to 8), and referenmain text ≤ 15,000 words
- reviewsA full-length critical review [10000-15000 words, including tables (up to 3), figures (up to 8), and references] provides a summary and discussion of the releva…Length not stated
- short communicationan those typically covered in a review. Short Communications Communications are preliminary reports (up to ~2000 words, including tables, figures, and reference…main text ≤ 2,000 words
- short communicationsCommunications are preliminary reports (up to ~2000 words, including tables, figures, and references).Length not stated
- spotlightsA Spotlight is a brief, lightly referenced article (up to ~1500 words, including tables, figures, and references) about an outstanding area, newsworthy advance,…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, Peer review, Preprints
- Authorship
ICMJE and WAME guidelines Model summary
BI follows ICMJE's (International Committee of Medical Journal Editors) Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals as well as the World Association of Medical Editors (WAME).
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Competing Interests
Editors and reviewers of BI declared no conflict of interests and authors must declare any conflict of interests of contributed authors very briefly in a separate paragraph at the end of the paper. All sources of funding should be declared; unless otherwise the following sentence should be given “Authors declare no conflict of interests”. Example from: Shokraneh F, Ilghami R, Masoomi R, Amanollahi…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
COPE, ICMJE, Equator Network guidelines Model summary
BI expects all authors, reviewers, and editors to consider COPE (Committee on Publication Ethics), ICMJE, and Equator Network’s reporting guidelines in medical ethics plus scientific writing.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double-blind peer review Model summary
Since all papers will undergo a double-blind peer review process, authors are required to upload the file related to such information as ‘Title of the Article’, ‘Author(s)' Name(s)’, ‘Organizational Affiliation’, ‘ORCID ID’, ‘Conflict of Interest’, ‘Authors' Contributions’, and ‘Acknowledgement’ in a separate file titled ‘Title Page’ in the Submission system.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Preprints not accepted Model summary
NOTE: Papers published in preprint servers such as ResearchSquare, arXiv, and so on are not accepted in BI.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Tabriz University of Medical Sciences
- Country or region
- IRAN
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2228-5652
- Electronic ISSN
- 2228-5660
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about BioImpacts
What CAS zone is BioImpacts in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, BioImpacts is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Pharmacology & Pharmacy. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of BioImpacts?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.42; CiteScore 4.2, h-index 46.
How long does peer review take at BioImpacts?
Based on the dates recorded on 89 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 106 days (interquartile range 68–194 days); authors report an average review time of about 5 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 19% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of BioImpacts?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 3–6; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Required; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index BioImpacts?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, BioImpacts is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is BioImpacts open access, and what is the APC?
BioImpacts is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .