Journal profile
Biodiversity and Natural History
ISSN 0719-4986 · Centro de Estudios en Biodiversidad · Chile
Biodiversity and Natural History: fully open access; no APC; review about 5 weeks (community reports).
The latest issue on the journal's website is from 2018 (Volume 4, Issue 1): the journal may have stopped publishing or moved platform in the last two years. Check its website before submitting.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Aims and scope of the journal Biodiversity and Natural History (formerly Boletín de Biodiversidad de Chile) is a peer-reviewed, open-access and e-journal published by the Centro de Estudios en Biodiversidad de Chile (Center for Studies in Biodiversity). The journal publishes both high quality hypothesis-driven studies and purely descriptive studies that contribute to improve our understanding of biodiversity and natural history on all kinds of taxa, environments and spatial scales (local, regional or global) Abbreviated title: Biodivers. Nat. Hist. ISSN: 0719‐4986 Frequency: Two volumes per year Highlights There are no page charges There is no charge for figures in color Articles are immediately published after acceptance The journal publishes manuscripts written in both English or Spanish
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Editor-in-chief Leonardo D. FernándezPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Chile 13, United Kingdom 1, Switzerland 1, Mexico 1, Argentina 1 (18 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
Indexed in: no record yet.
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 5 weeksLetPub ·
- Peer review
- Peer reviewLetPub
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- ≤ 8
- Reference style
- Author–date
Article types accepted2
- research articlesResearch ArticlesLength not stated
- short communicationsShort CommunicationsLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Peer review
- License & copyright Copyright Notice
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License Model summary
Authors who publish with this journal agree to the following terms: Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication. The articles in this journal are published under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License that allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work's authorship and initial publication in this journal. Authors are …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer Review Process
Each article submitted to Biodiversity and Natural History is rigorously reviewed by at least two independent external reviewers. This peer review process aims to ensure the publication of high-quality manuscripts.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Centro de Estudios en Biodiversidad
- Country or region
- Chile
- Language
- English, Spanish
- ISSN
- 0719-4986
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 4, Issue 1 (2018)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Biodiversity and Natural History
How long does peer review take at Biodiversity and Natural History?
Authors report an average review time of about 5 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Biodiversity and Natural History?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≤ 8; Reference style: Author–date. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Biodiversity and Natural History based?
Of the 18 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Chile (13), United Kingdom (1) and Switzerland (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Is Biodiversity and Natural History open access, and what is the APC?
Biodiversity and Natural History is a fully open-access journal. It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .