Journal profile · Multiple
Biodemography and Social Biology
ISSN 1948-5565 · eISSN 1948-5573 · Taylor & Francis
Biodemography and Social Biology: CAS Zone 4 · Sociology (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.52; hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 106 days (first decision after review, publisher); acceptance rate 17% (journal website); 18 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Biodemography and Social Biology is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 4 of Sociology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Demographic Trends and Gender Preferences, Health disparities and outcomes and Family Dynamics and Relationships, together about 29.6% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Biodemography and Social Biology is devoted to furthering the discussion, advancement, and dissemination of knowledge about biological and sociocultural forces interacting to affect the structure, health, well-being and behavior of human populations. This interdisciplinary publication features contributions from scholars in the fields of sociology, demography, public health, psychology, anthropology, biology, genetics, and others. Original manuscripts that further knowledge in the area of social biology are welcome, along with brief reports, and review articles. Peer Review Policy: All research articles in this journal have undergone peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymous refereeing by two or more anonymous referees. Publication office: Taylor & Francis, Inc., 530 Walnut Street, Suite 850, Philadelphia, PA 19106.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 40%); most named Mainland China 2, Japan 1, India 1, Italy 1 (5 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Demographic Trends and Gender PreferencesSocial Sciences12.2%
- Health disparities and outcomesSocial Sciences9.2%
- Family Dynamics and RelationshipsSocial Sciences8.1%
- Global Maternal and Child HealthMedicine7.1%
- Birth, Development, and HealthMedicine6.9%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering5.4%
- Evolutionary Psychology and Human BehaviorPsychology4.9%
- Educational Robotics and EngineeringComputer Science4.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Sociology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Sociology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Demography | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Social Sciences, Biomedical | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Sociology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Sociology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Sociology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Demography | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Social Sciences, Biomedical | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Sociology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Sociology Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Sociology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Demography | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Social Sciences, Biomedical | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Sociology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website
- CiteScore Q2 · 2025
Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website
Database indexing
SSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceMEDLINEPubMedCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: ProQuest, EBSCOhost, Gale, International Atomic Energy Agency, National Library of Medicine, Personal Alert (E-mail), Plexus Publishing, Inc., Sage Publications, Inc., Thomson Reuters, U.S. National Library of Medicine
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.52LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.4Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 1.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.43LetPub ·
- SJR (publisher) 2025
- 0.43Publisher website ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.62LetPub ·
- SNIP (publisher) 2025
- 0.62Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 55OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 309OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.53OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 14.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 6.67%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 16LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 28,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 840 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 13 | 4 | 1 |
| 2025 | 18 | 3 | 19 |
| 2024 | 20 | 7 | 58 |
| 2023 | 14 | 3 | 56 |
| 2022 | 17 | 6 | 91 |
| 2021 | 12 | 5 | 143 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
106 daysfirst decision after review
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 17%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 21 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 106 daysPublisher website ·
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted2
- research articleResearch Article | Published online: 2 Sep 2026Length not stated
- review articleOriginal manuscripts that further knowledge in the area of social biology are welcome, along with brief reports, and review articles.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
- Open access Open access
Biodemography and Social Biology is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverab…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
All research articles have undergone peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymous refereeing by two or more anonymous referees. Model summary
All research articles in this journal have undergone peer review, based on initial editor screening and anonymous refereeing by two or more anonymous referees.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Taylor & Francis
- ISSN
- 1948-5565
- Electronic ISSN
- 1948-5573
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 71, Issue 2 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Biodemography and Social Biology
What CAS zone is Biodemography and Social Biology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Biodemography and Social Biology is in Zone 4 of Sociology, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Demography / Social Sciences, Biomedical / Sociology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Sociology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Biodemography and Social Biology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.52; CiteScore 1.8, h-index 55.
How long does peer review take at Biodemography and Social Biology?
The publisher reports about 106 days (first decision after review); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 17%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Biodemography and Social Biology based?
Of the 5 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 40%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (2), Japan (1) and India (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Biodemography and Social Biology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Biodemography and Social Biology is indexed in SSCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE, PubMed and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Biodemography and Social Biology open access, and what is the APC?
Biodemography and Social Biology is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .