Journal profile · Obstetrics & Gynecology
Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology
ISSN 1521-6934 · eISSN 1532-1932 · Bailliere Tindall Ltd · ENGLAND · Bimonthly
Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 5.86; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,560; median 199 days to acceptance (99 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 75%; 73 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology is published by Bailliere Tindall Ltd and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Endometriosis Research and Treatment, Uterine Myomas and Treatments and Pregnancy and preeclampsia studies, together about 20.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Obstetrics and Gynecology and Pediatrics, Perinatology and Child Health. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology publishes authoritative, clinically focused content that supports evidence-based practice across obstetrics and gynaecology.The journal’s primary focus remains on practical, evidence-based review articles, including systematic reviews and meta-analyses, that address key questions in diagnosis, treatment, and patient management, and clearly define what is known, what is uncertain, and what remains to be established. The journal will also consider original research of clear clinical relevance and methodological rigor, particularly studies with the potential to influence clinical practice, inform guidelines, or address important evidence gaps in obstetrics and gynaecology.The journal primarily publishes commissioned thematic special issues led by Guest Editors and developed by international experts. Across all content, emphasis is placed on clinically applicable, evidence-informed work that informs patient care, guideline development, and future research priorities.While most content is commissioned, standalone submissions are considered following a pre-submission inquiry.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Obstetrics & Gynecology
Editor-in-chief Asma KhalilPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 11%); most named United Kingdom 6, Australia 4, Mainland China 3, Hong Kong, China 3, United States 2 (27 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Endometriosis Research and TreatmentMedicine7.7%
- Uterine Myomas and TreatmentsMedicine6.6%
- Pregnancy and preeclampsia studiesMedicine6.3%
- Prenatal Screening and DiagnosticsMedicine5.4%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.1%
- Assisted Reproductive Technology and Twin PregnancyMedicine5%
- Maternal and Perinatal Health InterventionsMedicine4.9%
- Maternal and fetal healthcareMedicine4.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Obstetrics & Gynecology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: yes
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Obstetrics & Gynecology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Obstetrics & Gynecology | Zone 1 |
Top journal: noReview journal: yes
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 5.86LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 5.9Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 9.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 9.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.63LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 2.28LetPub ·
- h-index
- 72LetPub ·
- h-index
- 140OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,599OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 5.17OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 1.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 29.68%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 63LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,875 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 43 | 17 | 18 |
| 2025 | 73 | 26 | 152 |
| 2024 | 80 | 34 | 844 |
| 2023 | 100 | 30 | 1,471 |
| 2022 | 124 | 30 | 1,913 |
| 2021 | 120 | 30 | 1,826 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
199 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 141 days – 284 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 7 days (99 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 217 days
- Sample
- 99 articles with submission and acceptance dates (127 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 6 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 75%LetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 43 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 130 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 200 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,560 / EUR 4,270 / GBP 3,650 / JPY 565,580 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 4,980 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers2, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 7,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted10, with length limits
- editorialthemes, and remain concise and focused. Editorials generally do not exceed 1,500 words. Abstracts are not required. Peer review This journal follomain text ≤ 1,500 words
- editorials (invited)(Guest) Editorials are typically written by Guest Editors to introduce a thematic issue or address topics of strategic importance in obstetrics and gynaecology.Length not stated
- meta-analysisThe journal primarily publishes commissioned thematic issues led by Guest Editors and composed mainly of invited review articles. These reviews form the core of…Length not stated
- original research articleThe journal primarily publishes commissioned thematic issues led by Guest Editors and composed mainly of invited review articles. These reviews form the core of…Length not stated
- original research articlesThe journal publishes original research that is methodologically robust and directly relevant to clinical practice in obstetrics and gynaecology.Length not stated
- reviewThe journal primarily publishes commissioned thematic issues led by Guest Editors and composed mainly of invited review articles. These reviews form the core of…Length not stated
- review articleThe journal primarily publishes commissioned thematic issues led by Guest Editors and composed mainly of invited review articles. These reviews form the core of…main text ≤ 7,000 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
- review articlesReview Articles form the core of the journal and aim to translate the latest research into practical, evidence-based guidance for clinical care in obstetrics an…Length not stated
- systematic reviewThe journal primarily publishes commissioned thematic issues led by Guest Editors and composed mainly of invited review articles. These reviews form the core of…Length not stated
- systematic reviews and meta-analysesSystematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses must follow PRISMA 2020 guidelines and include a completed checklist as supplementary material.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of one reviewer for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Rea…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Bailliere Tindall Ltd
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- ISSN
- 1521-6934
- Electronic ISSN
- 1532-1932
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology
What CAS zone is Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Obstetrics & Gynecology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 5.86; CiteScore 9.8, h-index 140.
How long does peer review take at Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology?
Based on the dates recorded on 99 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 199 days (interquartile range 141–284 days); authors report an average review time of about 6 months; the community-reported acceptance is “about 75%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 7,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology based?
Of the 27 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 11%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (6), Australia (4) and Mainland China (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology open access, and what is the APC?
Best Practice & Research Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,560.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .