Journal profile

BC TEAL Journal

ISSN 2369-4211 · BC TEAL · Canada

BC TEAL Journal: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 24 weeks (community reports); 4 articles in 2025.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartile—No CiteScore rank
Review timeabout 24 weeksCommunity average
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year42025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

BC TEAL Journal is published by BC TEAL. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are EFL/ESL Teaching and Learning, Second Language Learning and Teaching and Discourse Analysis in Language Studies, together about 53% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The BC TEAL Journal is the peer-reviewed publication of the Association of BC Teachers of English as an Additional Language (BC TEAL). The journal exists to promote scholarship related to the teaching and learning of English as an additional language (EAL) in British Columbia, with articles explicitly reflecting the various contexts and settings of the BC TEAL membership. The BC TEAL Journal publishes on an ongoing basis, with articles gathered into a single issue over the course of one calendar year. Information on how to submit an article to the journal along with author guidelines can be found here: https://ojs-o.library.ubc.ca/index.php/BCTJ/about/submissions

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. EFL/ESL Teaching and LearningArts and Humanities30%
  2. Second Language Learning and TeachingArts and Humanities14.5%
  3. Discourse Analysis in Language StudiesArts and Humanities8.5%
  4. Multilingual Education and PolicySocial Sciences5.5%
  5. Education and experiences of immigrants and refugeesSocial Sciences5%
  6. Second Language Acquisition and LearningPsychology4%
  7. International Student and Expatriate ChallengesSocial Sciences3.5%
  8. Teacher Education and Leadership StudiesSocial Sciences3%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

DOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

ERICPublisher website

Other: Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

h-index
8OpenAlex ·
i10-index
7OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.06OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 78 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20265510
20254419
20248839
20235536
20224443
20218828

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 24 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 24 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY-NC-ND
LetPubNo APCNo—

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Other fees
Charged; see the journal's website for the amount
Page charges
Charged; see the journal's website for the amount
Submission fee
Charged; see the journal's website for the amount

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 200 words
Keywords
5
Manuscript length
≤ 8,000 words
Reference style
APA
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted11, with length limits
  1. book reviews are +/- 4,000 words, plus references. Book reviews are +/- 1,000 words plus references. The submission adheres to the journal's pumain text ≤ 1,000 words
  2. book reviewsBook reviews of recent books related to EAL teaching and learning are typically no more than 1,000 words plus references.Length not stated
  3. classroom practiceTheoretical analysis, classroom practice, and opinion essays should aim for +/- 4,000 words, plus references.Length not stated
  4. classroom practice descriptionsTheoretical analyses, classroom practice descriptions, and opinion essays should aim for +/- 4,000 words, plus references.Length not stated
  5. opinions, classroom practice descriptions, and opinion essays are +/- 4,000 words, plus references. Book reviews are +/- 1,000 words plus refmain text ≤ 4,000 words
  6. opinion essaysTheoretical analyses, classroom practice descriptions, and opinion essays should aim for +/- 4,000 words, plus references.Length not stated
  7. research articlessions via email or the postal service. Research articles are +/- 8,000 words, plus references. Theoretical analyses, classroom practicemain text ≤ 8,000 words
  8. research articlesResearch articles should aim for +/- 8,000 words, plus references.Length not stated
  9. research type articlesResearch type articles should aim for +/- 8,000 words, plus references.Length not stated
  10. theoretical analysesTheoretical analyses, classroom practice descriptions, and opinion essays should aim for +/- 4,000 words, plus references.Length not stated
  11. theoretical analysisTheoretical analysis, classroom practice, and opinion essays should aim for +/- 4,000 words, plus references.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism
AI use

Generative AI: authors must disclose use of generative AI; all manuscripts must include an AI disclosure statement. Model summary

Authors must disclose the use of generative AI. Disclosing the use of generative artificial intelligence (AI) is the authors’ responsibility. All manuscripts must include an AI disclosure statement.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Copyright Notice

Copyright/Licensing: Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication; work licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License. Model summary

Authors who publish with this journal agree to the following terms: Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License (see below) that allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work's authorship and initial publication in this journal. Authors are able to enter into separ…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open Access Policy

Fees: no article submission, processing, or publication fees. Model summary

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research and scholarship freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge. In addition, there are no article submission, processing, or publication fees for authors.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Ensuring Anonymous Peer Review

Peer review: double-anonymous peer review by reviewers knowledgeable about EAL teaching and learning. Model summary

When submitting to the BC TEAL Journal, please anonymize your manuscript to prepare it for peer review so that the identities of the authors and reviewers are not known to each other. All identifying information should be removed to assure anonymous review. In particular, please ensure that your name and institution are not listed in the “properties” section of your document in MS Word. More infor…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

Plagiarism: will result in rejection of any submission. Model summary

Plagiarism will result in a rejection of any submission to the journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
BC TEAL
Country or region
Canada
Language
English
ISSN
2369-4211
Latest issue on the website
Volume 11, Issue 1 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about BC TEAL Journal

How long does peer review take at BC TEAL Journal?

Authors report an average review time of about 24 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of BC TEAL Journal?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Keywords: 5; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Reference style: APA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Which databases index BC TEAL Journal?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, BC TEAL Journal is indexed in DOAJ. The journal's website also lists ERIC; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is BC TEAL Journal open access, and what is the APC?

BC TEAL Journal is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .