Journal profile · CHEMISTRY, MEDICINAL
Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine
ISSN 2228-7930 · eISSN 2228-7949 · Mashhad University of Medical Sciences · Iran, Islamic Republic of
Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 134 days to acceptance (66 articles, last 24 months); 71 articles a year; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine is published by Mashhad University of Medical Sciences and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topic is Ethnobotanical and Medicinal Plants Studies, about 100% of its articles. Its main subfields are Plant Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine (AJP) is an international journal devoted to publish original research papers in the field of “Phytomedicine” involving both basic and clinical research.The term "Phytomedicine" is used in its broadest sense in medicinal plants including basic (phytochemistry, Pharmacology and toxicology), clinical applications of herbs and natural products (case reports to full clinical trials) and effects of common food ingredients and standardized plant extracts. In addition, this journal would consider high quality manuscripts in traditional medicine.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): CHEMISTRY, MEDICINAL
Editor-in-chief Mohammad HosseinPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 3%); most named Iran 29, United Kingdom 2, Türkiye 2, Pakistan 2, Mainland China 1 (40 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Ethnobotanical and Medicinal Plants StudiesAgricultural and Biological Sciences100%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Medicinal | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Medicinal | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.64LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.81LetPub ·
- h-index
- 0OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 0OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 6.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 71LetPub ·
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
134 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 85 days – 215 days
- Acceptance to online
- —
- Submission to online
- —
- Sample
- 66 articles with submission and acceptance dates (137 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 6 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 6 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | IRR 3,000,000 | No | CC BY-NC-SA | |
| OpenAlex | IRR 3,000,000 | — | — | |
| LetPub | IRR 3,000,000 | No | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 300 | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- USD 300
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 3–6
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 5,000 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted10, with length limits
- commentaries, notes or letter to editorCommentaries/Notes (up to ~1500 words, including tables, figures and references) are explanatory discussion of a previously published article.Length not stated
- commentaryper/work for In Focus and Mini Reviews. Commentaries, Notes or Letter to editor Commentaries/Notes (up to ~1500 words, including tables, figures and references)…main text ≤ 1,500 words
- full original researchA full length original research article (up to ~5000 words, including tables, figures and references) presents novel findings relevant to the Aims and Scope of …Length not stated
- mini reviewMini review article in a relevant topic could be submitted. The length of mini reviews should not exceed the half of a full review manuscript. It also should co…references ≤ 100
- mini reviewsMini review article in a relevant topic could be submitted. The length of mini reviews should not exceed the half of a full review manuscript.Length not stated
- original researchd in one of the following formats: Full original research A full length original research article (up to ~5000 words, including tables, figures and references) …main text ≤ 5,000 words
- review3 tables and/or figures and references. Reviews A full length critical review article submitted to AJP should have up to ~6000 words, including tables, figures.…main text ≤ 6,000 words · references ≤ 70
- reviewsA full length critical review article submitted to AJP should have up to ~6000 words, including tables, figures.Length not stated
- short communicationt to the Aims and Scope of the Journal. Short Communications Communications are preliminary reports (up to ~3000 words, including maximum 3 tables and/or figure…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- short communicationsCommunications are preliminary reports (up to ~3000 words, including maximum 3 tables and/or figures and references.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism
- AI use
AI use policy Model summary
The use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in any step of manuscript preparation is in agreement with the COPE position statement.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access Model summary
All articles publishing in this Journal will be open access, which means, articles are universally and freely accessible via the Internet immediately after publication through http://ajp.mums.ac.ir/.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review F. Peer review process
Peer review process Model summary
All submissions will be reviewed anonymously by at least two independent referees. All manuscripts will be acknowledged upon presenting to the Journal office, provided that all stated requirements are met. Authors are encouraged to suggest names of three expert reviewers, but selection remains a prerogative of the Editor. The whole review process depends on receiving referees comments and revising…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Plagiarism policy Model summary
Plagiarism in all its forms is unacceptable.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Mashhad University of Medical Sciences
- Country or region
- Iran, Islamic Republic of
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2228-7930
- Electronic ISSN
- 2228-7949
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine
What CAS zone is Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Chemistry, Medicinal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
How long does peer review take at Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine?
Based on the dates recorded on 66 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 134 days (interquartile range 85–215 days); authors report an average review time of about 6 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 3–6; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine based?
Of the 40 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 3%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Iran (29), United Kingdom (2) and Türkiye (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine open access, and what is the APC?
Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .