Journal profile · Psychiatry
Australasian Psychiatry
ISSN 1039-8562 · eISSN 1440-1665 · SAGE Publications Ltd · AUSTRALIA · Bimonthly · Founded 1991
Australasian Psychiatry: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.63; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,150; review about 113 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); community-reported acceptance: easy; 206 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Australasian Psychiatry is published by SAGE Publications Ltd and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Mental Health Treatment and Access, Schizophrenia research and treatment and Mental Health and Psychiatry, together about 27.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Clinical Psychology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Australasian Psychiatry is the bi-monthly journal of The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP) that aims to promote the art of psychiatry and its maintenance of excellence in practice. View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Psychiatry
Editor-in-chief Jeffrey LooiPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Australia 38, New Zealand 2, Sweden 1, Malaysia 1 (42 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Mental Health Treatment and AccessPsychology10.6%
- Schizophrenia research and treatmentMedicine9.2%
- Mental Health and PsychiatryArts and Humanities7.7%
- Psychiatric care and mental health servicesPsychology6.7%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering5.7%
- Healthcare Decision-Making and RestraintsPsychology5.1%
- Mental Health and Patient InvolvementHealth Professions4.7%
- Educational Robotics and EngineeringComputer Science4.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIESSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.63LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.7Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 1.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.53LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.64LetPub ·
- h-index
- 34LetPub ·
- h-index
- 66OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,065OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.91OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 17.6%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 43.24%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 113LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 6,027 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 190 | 79 | 12 |
| 2025 | 206 | 77 | 142 |
| 2024 | 210 | 95 | 398 |
| 2023 | 244 | 129 | 916 |
| 2022 | 183 | 35 | 611 |
| 2021 | 209 | 63 | 1,108 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
113 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports 6–12 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 50%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 113 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 28 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,150 / GBP 3,043 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Other fees
- No other fees
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Keywords
- ≤ 5
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Templates
- LaTeX and Word
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
Article types accepted4
- book reviewPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. View our published topical collections currently accepting…Length not stated
- commentaryPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. View our published topical collections currently accepting…Length not stated
- original researchPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. View our published topical collections currently accepting…Length not stated
- reviewPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. View our published topical collections currently accepting…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Author contributions
You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
Data sharing required Model summary
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. As a condition of publication authors are required to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data availability statement. This sho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at no cost. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice program, and Open Access agreements, where authors can publish open access either discounted or free of charge depending on the agreement with Sage. Find out …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal does not accept submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
Clinical trial registration required per ICMJE Model summary
The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publications Ltd
- Country or region
- AUSTRALIA
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1991
- ISSN
- 1039-8562
- Electronic ISSN
- 1440-1665
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Australasian Psychiatry
What CAS zone is Australasian Psychiatry in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Australasian Psychiatry is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Psychiatry. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Australasian Psychiatry?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.63; CiteScore 2.6, h-index 66.
How long does peer review take at Australasian Psychiatry?
The publisher reports about 113 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 50%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Australasian Psychiatry?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Keywords: ≤ 5; Reference style: Vancouver; Templates: LaTeX and Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Australasian Psychiatry based?
Of the 42 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Australia (38), New Zealand (2) and Sweden (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Australasian Psychiatry?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Australasian Psychiatry is indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.
Is Australasian Psychiatry open access, and what is the APC?
Australasian Psychiatry is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,150.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .