Journal profile · Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear
Applied Organometallic Chemistry
ISSN 0268-2605 · eISSN 1099-0739 · John Wiley and Sons Ltd · ENGLAND · Monthly · Founded 1987
Applied Organometallic Chemistry: CAS Zone 2 · Chemistry (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.04; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,430; median 89 days to acceptance (96 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 556 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus; flagged on an early-warning list or for an indexing change: check before submitting.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Applied Organometallic Chemistry is published by John Wiley and Sons Ltd and is in Zone 2 of Chemistry in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Metal complexes synthesis and properties, Catalytic Cross-Coupling Reactions and Organometallic Compounds Synthesis and Characterization, together about 25.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Organic Chemistry. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
All new compounds should be satisfactorily identified and proof of their structure given according to generally accepted standards. Structural reports, such as papers exclusively dealing with synthesis and characterization, analytical techniques, or X-ray diffraction studies of metal-organic or organometallic compounds will not be considered. The editors reserve the right to refuse without peer review any manuscript that does not comply with the aims and scope of the journal. Applied Organometallic Chemistry publishes Full Papers, Reviews, Mini Reviews and Communications of scientific research in all areas of organometallic and metal-organic chemistry involving main group metals, transition metals, lanthanides and actinides. All contributions should contain an explicit application of novel compounds, for instance in materials science, nano science, catalysis, chemical vapour deposition, metal-mediated organic synthesis, polymers, bio-organometallics, metallo-therapy, metallo-diagnostics and medicine. Reviews of books covering aspects of the fields of focus are also published.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear
Editor-in-chief David Morales-MoralesPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 9%); most named United States 4, France 4, Mainland China 3, United Kingdom 2, Japan 2 (32 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Metal complexes synthesis and propertiesMedicine12.6%
- Catalytic Cross-Coupling ReactionsChemistry7%
- Organometallic Compounds Synthesis and CharacterizationChemistry6.4%
- Metal-Organic Frameworks: Synthesis and ApplicationsChemistry5.8%
- Organometallic Complex Synthesis and CatalysisChemistry5.3%
- Nanomaterials for catalytic reactionsChemistry5%
- Multicomponent Synthesis of HeterocyclesChemistry4.6%
- Chemical Synthesis and ReactionsChemistry4.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Chemistry Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Chemistry | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Applied | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Chemistry Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Chemistry | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Applied | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Chemistry Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Chemistry | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Chemistry, Applied | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
Early warning / risk: CAS Early Warning Journal List: listed in the March 2026 Xinrui edition (Under Review); not listed in the other 5 editions.LetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EI CompendexWeb of ScienceCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 4.04LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6.6LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 6.6Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.51LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.79LetPub ·
- h-index
- 66LetPub ·
- h-index
- 107OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 4,899OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 5.27OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 11.6%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 5.35%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 504LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 526Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 504,357Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 9,822 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 178 | 28 | 82 |
| 2025 | 556 | 166 | 2,175 |
| 2024 | 621 | 251 | 4,879 |
| 2023 | 349 | 145 | 4,176 |
| 2022 | 467 | 45 | 6,269 |
| 2021 | 436 | 22 | 6,867 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
89 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 56 days – 134 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 18 days (96 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 114 days
- Sample
- 96 articles with submission and acceptance dates (918 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 1.3 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly easyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 31%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 9 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 98 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 16 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single-anonymous peer reviewPublisher website · model-extracted
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,430 / EUR 3,700 / GBP 2,950 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted3
- full paperThe cover image is based on the Full Paper An effective additive for copper-catalyzed hydroxylation of aryl iodides by Tomoya Sakaguchi et al.Length not stated
- research articleApplied Organometallic Chemistry publishes Research Articles and ReviewsLength not stated
- reviewApplied Organometallic Chemistry publishes Research Articles and ReviewsLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Plagiarism, Preprints, Self-archiving
- Data availability
Journal expects data sharing; data availability statement required during submission. Model summary
This journal expects data sharing. During submission you will be asked to include a data availability statement.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Human and animal studies must be approved by an appropriate ethics committee or review board. Model summary
All human and animal studies must be approved by an appropriate ethics committee or review board (depending on local arrangements), and a statement to this effect should be included in the methods section, or the reasons why it was not necessary if this is the case.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright and Permissions
If your paper is accepted, the author identified as the formal corresponding author for the paper will receive an email prompting them to login into Author Services; where via the Wiley Author Licensing Service (WALS) they will be able to complete the license agreement on behalf of all authors on the paper. For authors signing the copyright transfer agreement If the Open Access option is not selec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Plagiarism checks on all papers as standard practice in accordance with COPE guidelines. Model summary
This journal does not condone plagiarism of work, including excessive self-citation. The journal does plagiarism checks on all papers as standard practice in accordance with COPE guidelines.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Authors must inform the Editor of related manuscripts submitted, in press, published elsewhere, or posted on preprint servers. Model summary
The authors must inform the Editor of manuscripts submitted, soon to be submitted, in press or published at other journals or posted on any preprint server, that have a bearing on the manuscript being submitted.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Self-archiving
Authors may suggest reviewers; editor not obligated to contact them; undisclosed conflicts of interest handled per COPE guidelines. Model summary
Authors may suggest appropriate reviewers during submission. However, the editor is under no obligation to contact them, and any undisclosed conflicts of interest (same institute, close colleague, fraudulent information) will be subject to follow-up according to the COPE guidelines and/or immediate rejection of the article.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- John Wiley and Sons Ltd
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1987
- ISSN
- 0268-2605
- Electronic ISSN
- 1099-0739
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 40, Issue 10 (October 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Applied Organometallic Chemistry
What CAS zone is Applied Organometallic Chemistry in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Applied Organometallic Chemistry is in Zone 2 of Chemistry, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Chemistry, Inorganic & Nuclear / Chemistry, Applied. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Chemistry. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Applied Organometallic Chemistry?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.04; CiteScore 6.6, h-index 107.
How long does peer review take at Applied Organometallic Chemistry?
Based on the dates recorded on 96 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 89 days (interquartile range 56–134 days); authors report an average review time of about 1.3 months; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 31% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Applied Organometallic Chemistry?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Applied Organometallic Chemistry based?
Of the 32 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 9%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (4), France (4) and Mainland China (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Applied Organometallic Chemistry?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Applied Organometallic Chemistry is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists EI Compendex, Web of Science, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Applied Organometallic Chemistry open access, and what is the APC?
Applied Organometallic Chemistry is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,430.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .