Journal profile

Applied Entomology and Phytopathology

ISSN 1026-5007 · eISSN 3092-6580 · Agricultural Research,Education and Extension Organization · Iran, Islamic Republic of

Applied Entomology and Phytopathology: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 150 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 42% (journal website); 1,028 articles a year.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartile—No CiteScore rank
Review time150 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance · community reports about 12 weeks
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance42%From the journal's website
Articles per year1,028LetPub annual count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Applied Entomology and Phytopathology is published by Agricultural Research,Education and Extension Organization. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Insect-Plant Interactions and Control, Hemiptera Insect Studies and Hymenoptera taxonomy and phylogeny, together about 41.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Plant Science and Ecology, Evolution, Behavior and Systematics. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The aim of Applied Entomology and Phytopathology journal is to provide a medium for dissemination of innovative and consequential papers on pure science as well as applied ones in plant protection. Improving plant protection science achieved through publishing novel integrated pest management methods to decrease the losses of plant pests and diseases which would be resulted in a long prospect of sustainable and conservative agriculture in approach of food safety and food security strategy.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Editor-in-chief Mansoureh MirabolfathyPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Iran 15, United States 1 (16 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Insect-Plant Interactions and ControlAgricultural and Biological Sciences20%
  2. Hemiptera Insect StudiesAgricultural and Biological Sciences13.2%
  3. Hymenoptera taxonomy and phylogenyAgricultural and Biological Sciences8.7%
  4. Insect behavior and control techniquesAgricultural and Biological Sciences6.2%
  5. Diptera species taxonomy and behaviorAgricultural and Biological Sciences5.1%
  6. Study of Mite SpeciesAgricultural and Biological Sciences4.9%
  7. Research on scale insectsAgricultural and Biological Sciences4.3%
  8. Plant Pathogens and Fungal DiseasesBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.6%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

DOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

Google scholar, SID, ISC, CAB, Agris, Magiran, CIVILICAPublisher website

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

h-index
8OpenAlex ·
i10-index
8OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year (publisher)
1,028Publisher website ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
523,134Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 192 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2025004
2024009
20230011
20220014
20210027

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

150 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 12 weeks

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Average review time (community reports)
about 12 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
42%Publisher website ·
Desk decision
1 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to first decision
1 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
15 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
150 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
60 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 12 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY
LetPubNo APCNo—
Publisher websiteNo APC——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
150–250 words
Manuscript length
≤ 3,000 words
Reference style
APA
Templates
Word
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted7, with length limits
  1. full-length original articlesFull-length original articles, short communications and short reports are welcomed.Length not stated
  2. short communicationend of each reference. Submission of a Short Communication article "Short Communications" should not exceed 3000 words (including all sections). As with "Origin…main text ≤ 3,000 words
  3. short communicationsFull-length original articles, short communications and short reports are welcomed.Length not stated
  4. short reportsFull-length original articles, short communications and short reports are welcomed.Length not stated
  5. مقاله پژوهشینوع مقالات: مقاله پژوهشی- مقاله کوتاه- گزارش کوتاهLength not stated
  6. مقاله کوتاهنوع مقالات: مقاله پژوهشی- مقاله کوتاه- گزارش کوتاهLength not stated
  7. گزارش کوتاهنوع مقالات: مقاله پژوهشی- مقاله کوتاه- گزارش کوتاهLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
Authorship

Originality required; no prior publication or simultaneous submission. Model summary

Contributions must be original and must not have been submitted for publication elsewhere.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest

Authors must ensure no conflict among authors regarding the manuscript. Model summary

Please also make sure that there is no conflict between the authors regarding the submitted manuscript.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright

CC BY 4.0 license. Model summary

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access

Immediate open access; free to access from date of publication. Model summary

The Journal of Applied Entomology and Phytopathology is committed to immediate and real open access for academic work. All original articles, technical briefs and review papers published in this journal are free to access immediately from the date of publication.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Critical peer review before publication. Model summary

Manuscripts submitted to Applied Entomology and Phytopathology are critically peer reviewed before they are published.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Agricultural Research,Education and Extension Organization
Country or region
Iran, Islamic Republic of
Language
Persian
ISSN
1026-5007
Print ISSN
3092-6572
Electronic ISSN
3092-6580
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Applied Entomology and Phytopathology

How long does peer review take at Applied Entomology and Phytopathology?

The publisher reports about 150 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 42%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Applied Entomology and Phytopathology?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words; Reference style: APA; Templates: Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Applied Entomology and Phytopathology based?

Of the 16 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Iran (15) and United States (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Applied Entomology and Phytopathology?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Applied Entomology and Phytopathology is indexed in DOAJ.

Is Applied Entomology and Phytopathology open access, and what is the APC?

Applied Entomology and Phytopathology is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .