Journal profile · Surgery
Annals of Vascular Surgery
ISSN 0890-5096 · eISSN 1615-5947 · Elsevier Inc. · UNITED STATES · Bimonthly · Founded 1986
Annals of Vascular Surgery: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.56; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,560; median 67 days to acceptance (101 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 719 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Annals of Vascular Surgery is published by Elsevier Inc. and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Aortic aneurysm repair treatments, Peripheral Artery Disease Management and Aortic Disease and Treatment Approaches, together about 37.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Pulmonary and Respiratory Medicine and Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Annals of Vascular Surgery is the official publication for: • Brazilian Society of Angiology and Vascular Surgery• Chilean Society for Vascular and Endovascular Surgery• Chinese Society for Vascular Surgery• Florida Vascular Society• French Society for Vascular and Endovascular Surgery• Southern California Vascular Surgical Society• Vascular & Endovascular Surgery Society, USA• Vascular Surgeons of Spanish Language• Georgia Vascular SocietyAnnals of Vascular Surgery is published monthly (12 times per year). The journal invites original manuscripts reporting clinical and experimental work in vascular surgery, endovascular therapy, and vascular medicine. Articles may be submitted for the following sections:• Clinical Research• Basic Science Research• General Reviews / Meta-analysis• Basic Data Underlying Clinical Decision-making in Vascular Surgery• Historical Notes• CorrespondenceAnnals of Vascular Surgery no longer accepts Case Reports or Technical Notes. Authors are encouraged to submit these article types to Annals of Vascular Surgery: Brief Reports and Innovations.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Surgery
Editor-in-chief Timothy M. SullivanPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 7%); most named United States 2, United Kingdom 2, Italy 2, Brazil 2, Jordan 2 (15 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Aortic aneurysm repair treatmentsMedicine15.9%
- Peripheral Artery Disease ManagementMedicine11.4%
- Aortic Disease and Treatment ApproachesMedicine10.6%
- Vascular Procedures and ComplicationsMedicine9.7%
- Infectious Aortic and Vascular ConditionsMedicine7.2%
- Cerebrovascular and Carotid Artery DiseasesMedicine5.8%
- Cardiac, Anesthesia and Surgical OutcomesMedicine5.1%
- Central Venous Catheters and HemodialysisHealth Professions4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Peripheral Vascular Disease | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Peripheral Vascular Disease | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Peripheral Vascular Disease | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.56LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.67LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.99LetPub ·
- h-index
- 67LetPub ·
- h-index
- 107OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 4,709OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.32OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 12.5%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 12.84%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 520LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 13,591 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 676 | 113 | 100 |
| 2025 | 719 | 154 | 789 |
| 2024 | 710 | 170 | 1,882 |
| 2023 | 639 | 149 | 2,433 |
| 2022 | 587 | 121 | 2,984 |
| 2021 | 760 | 159 | 5,145 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
67 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 41 days – 100 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 16 days (101 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 82 days
- Sample
- 101 articles with submission and acceptance dates (1,384 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 1 monthLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 34 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 74 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 8 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,560 / EUR 3,330 / GBP 2,850 / JPY 441,550 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,660 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Not considered
- Case Reports; Technical Notes
Article types accepted12
- basic dataBasic DataLength not stated
- basic science researchBasic Science Research (new investigations, experimental work)Length not stated
- clinical researchClinical Research (reports of clinical series, new drug or medical device trials)Length not stated
- correspondenceArticles may be submitted for the following sections of the journal:• Clinical Research (reports of clinical series, new drug or medical device trials)• Basic S…Length not stated
- developments in endovascular and endoscopic surgeryDevelopments in Endovascular and Endoscopic SurgeryLength not stated
- editorialArticles may be submitted for the following sections of the journal:• Clinical Research (reports of clinical series, new drug or medical device trials)• Basic S…Length not stated
- editorials/correspondenceEditorials/CorrespondenceLength not stated
- general reviewsGeneral Reviews (scholarly review of the existing literature on a relevant topic)Length not stated
- historical notesHistorical Notes (interesting vignettes from the early days of vascular surgery)Length not stated
- letterArticles may be submitted for the following sections of the journal:• Clinical Research (reports of clinical series, new drug or medical device trials)• Basic S…Length not stated
- research letterResearch Letter (max. 1500 words, no abstract, at least 1 table and/or figure (max. 2 total), a maximum of 5 authors & 15 references, no supplementary material)Length not stated
- reviewArticles may be submitted for the following sections of the journal:• Clinical Research (reports of clinical series, new drug or medical device trials)• Basic S…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Original work declaration Model summary
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Follow Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of one reviewer for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Rea…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Inc.
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1986
- ISSN
- 0890-5096
- Electronic ISSN
- 1615-5947
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Annals of Vascular Surgery
What CAS zone is Annals of Vascular Surgery in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Annals of Vascular Surgery is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Peripheral Vascular Disease / Surgery. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Annals of Vascular Surgery?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.56; CiteScore 3, h-index 107.
How long does peer review take at Annals of Vascular Surgery?
Based on the dates recorded on 101 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 67 days (interquartile range 41–100 days); authors report an average review time of about 1 month; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Annals of Vascular Surgery?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Annals of Vascular Surgery based?
Of the 15 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 7%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (2), United Kingdom (2) and Italy (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Annals of Vascular Surgery?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Annals of Vascular Surgery is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Annals of Vascular Surgery open access, and what is the APC?
Annals of Vascular Surgery is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,560.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .