Journal profile · Multiple
Animal Models and Experimental Medicine
ISSN 2576-2095 · Wiley · Australia · Bi-monthly · Founded 2018
Animal Models and Experimental Medicine: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.3 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,000; median 122 days to acceptance (84 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 32% (journal website); 205 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Animal Models and Experimental Medicine is published by Wiley and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Animal testing and alternatives, Gut microbiota and health and Diverse Scientific and Economic Studies, together about 22.8% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Animal Models and Experimental Medicine (AMEM) is an international, open access publishing journal dedicated to disseminating research and contemporary information in the field of laboratory animal sciences. The objective of AMEM is to build an international academic exchange platform for research involving laboratory animals, animal models and related topics, including applied research in experimental medicine and translational medicine, and to increase understanding amongst the international academic community of the development of such studies and the welfare status of laboratory animals. Topics explored by AMEM include new animal models of human disease, laboratory animal biology, laboratory animal medicine, laboratory animal welfare, laboratory animal biotechnology, as well as other studies involving laboratory animals. AMEM is supported by Chinese Association for Laboratory Animal Sciences (CALAS), and Institute of Laboratory Animal Sciences, Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences & Peking Union Medical College.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editor-in-chief Bin CongPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 7 in mainland China (about 88%); most named Mainland China 7, Pakistan 1 (8 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Animal testing and alternativesVeterinary8.8%
- Gut microbiota and healthBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology8.2%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.8%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering5.8%
- Educational Robotics and EngineeringComputer Science5.8%
- Cancer Cells and MetastasisMedicine4.1%
- Pulmonary Hypertension Research and TreatmentsMedicine4.1%
- Neuroinflammation and Neurodegeneration MechanismsNeuroscience3.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Medicine, Research & Experimental | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Medicine, Research & Experimental | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Biochemistry & Molecular Biology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Medicine, Research & Experimental | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceMEDLINEPMCPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3.3Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 4.8Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 4.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.08LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.02LetPub ·
- h-index
- 45OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 206OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.49OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 158LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 2Publisher website ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 162Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 370,755Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 906 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 173 | 173 | 31 |
| 2025 | 205 | 205 | 423 |
| 2024 | 131 | 131 | 813 |
| 2023 | 89 | 89 | 836 |
| 2022 | 99 | 99 | 1,529 |
| 2021 | 55 | 55 | 1,291 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
122 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 90 days – 170 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 42 days (84 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 185 days
- Sample
- 84 articles with submission and acceptance dates (384 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 32%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 32%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 21 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 21 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 114 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 41 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 12 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,000 / GBP 1,540 / EUR 1,840 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,000 / EUR 1,835 / GBP 1,540 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,000 / GBP 1,540 / EUR 1,835 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted10, with length limits
- commentaryndergo peer review prior to acceptance. Commentary Word limit: 1,500 words maximum including an abstract but excluding references. Titmain text ≤ 1,500 words
- editorialEditorial [ONLY BY INVITATION OF THE EDITORS]main text ≤ 1,500 words
- letter to the editorWord limit: 500 words maximum.Abstract: not required for this manuscript type.References: 5 maximum.Figures/ tables: 1 maximum.Description: Letters must offer p…main text ≤ 500 words
- meeting reportMeeting Report Word limit: 3,000 words maximum including an abstract but excluding references, tables and figures.Length not stated
- original article, or how practice should be undertaken. Original Article Word limit: 4,000 words maximum including an abstract but excluding references, tabmain text ≤ 4,000 words · abstract ≤ 250 words · figures and tables ≤ 8
- practice and policyPractice and Policy Word limit: 3,000 words maximum including an abstract but excluding references, tables and figures.Length not stated
- research highlightsResearch Highlights Word limit: 1,500 words maximum including an abstract but excluding references, tables and figures.Length not stated
- reviewoposed paper for initial consideration. Review Word limit: 5,000 words maximum including an abstract but excluding references, tabmain text ≤ 5,000 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
- short communicationine, interpreted in the broadest sense. Short Communication Word limit: 3,000 words including an abstract but excluding references, tables andmain text ≤ 3,000 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
- technical notetions Office (E-mail: amem@cnilas.org). Technical Note Word limit: 1,500 words including an abstract but excluding references, tables andmain text ≤ 1,500 words · abstract ≤ 250 words
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteConflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints
- Conflicts of interest Conflict of Interest Statement
Authors will be asked to provide a conflict of interest statement during the submission process. See ‘Conflict of Interest’ section in Editorial Policies and Ethical Considerations for details on what to include in this section. Authors should ensure they liaise with all co-authors to confirm agreement with the final statement.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data Sharing and Data Accessibility
Encourages data sharing Model summary
Please review Wiley’s policy here. This journal encourages data sharing.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Publication Ethics
COPE member Model summary
This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). Note this journal uses iThenticate’s Cross Check software to detect instances of overlapping and similar text in submitted manuscripts. Read our Top 10 Publishing Ethics Tips for Authors here. Wiley’s Publication Ethics Guidelines can be found at https://authorservices.wiley.com/ethics-guidelines/index.html.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Review Process
The acceptance criteria for all papers are the quality and originality of the research and its significance to journal readership. Except where otherwise stated, manuscripts are single-blind peer reviewed. Papers will only be sent to review if the Editor-in-Chief determines that the paper meets the appropriate quality and relevance requirements. Manuscripts are assigned sequentially to Associate E…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Uses iThenticate Cross Check for plagiarism detection Model summary
Note this journal uses iThenticate’s Cross Check software to detect instances of overlapping and similar text in submitted manuscripts.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint Policy
Preprint policy: accepts preprint-posted articles Model summary
Please find our preprint policy here.This journal accepts articles previously published on preprint servers. You are requested to update any pre-publication versions with a link to the final published article. You may also post the final published version of the article immediately after publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley
- Country or region
- Australia
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bi-monthly
- Founded
- 2018
- ISSN
- 2576-2095
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 9, Issue 8 (August 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Animal Models and Experimental Medicine
What CAS zone is Animal Models and Experimental Medicine in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Animal Models and Experimental Medicine is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Biochemistry & Molecular Biology / Medicine, Research & Experimental. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Animal Models and Experimental Medicine?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 3.3 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 4.8, h-index 45.
How long does peer review take at Animal Models and Experimental Medicine?
Based on the dates recorded on 84 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 122 days (interquartile range 90–170 days); authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 32% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Animal Models and Experimental Medicine based?
Of the 8 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 7 (about 88%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (7) and Pakistan (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Animal Models and Experimental Medicine?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Animal Models and Experimental Medicine is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE and PMC; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Animal Models and Experimental Medicine open access, and what is the APC?
Animal Models and Experimental Medicine is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,000.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .