Journal profile · CLINICAL NEUROLOGY

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration

ISSN 2167-8421 · eISSN 2167-9223 · Informa Healthcare · ENGLAND

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.54; hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 94 days to acceptance (75 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 40% (journal website); 134 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor2.54Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time94 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 75 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCCharged, amount not publishedHybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance40%From the journal's website
Articles per year1342025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration is published by Informa Healthcare and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Research, Neurogenetic and Muscular Disorders Research and Parkinson's Disease Mechanisms and Treatments, together about 66.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Neurology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration is dedicated to the research of motor neuron diseases, especially ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease) and cognitive decline associated with frontotemporal degeneration. Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration is the official journal of the World Federation of Neurology Research Group on Motor Neuron Diseases. It enhances awareness and disseminates information on new developments in the pathogenesis and management of ALS and FTD. Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration covers the following topics related to ALS, FTD and other motor neuron diseases: Cognitive decline Basic science Genetics New treatments and clinical trials Epidemiology Clinical neurophysiology, and other clinical and scientific aspects. The journal accepts original articles, reports, reviews, case reports and other short reports, correspondence, point-counterpoint and illustrations, point-counterpoint items and book reviews. The journal operates a single-anonymized peer review policy. Authors can choose to publish gold open access in this journal.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): CLINICAL NEUROLOGY

Editor-in-chief Matthew HarmsPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 1, United Kingdom 1, Netherlands 1 (3 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis ResearchMedicine39.9%
  2. Neurogenetic and Muscular Disorders ResearchMedicine19.4%
  3. Parkinson's Disease Mechanisms and TreatmentsMedicine7.1%
  4. Genetic Neurodegenerative DiseasesNeuroscience5.1%
  5. Neurological diseases and metabolismNeuroscience2.9%
  6. Prion Diseases and Protein MisfoldingBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology2.9%
  7. Alzheimer's disease research and treatmentsMedicine2.2%
  8. Cholinesterase and Neurodegenerative DiseasesMedicine2%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorClinical NeurologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorClinical NeurologyZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorClinical NeurologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

MEDLINEEmbaseCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website

Other: Index Medicus, CML NEUROLOGY

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
2.54LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
2.4Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
3Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
4.7LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
4.7Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.99LetPub ·
SJR (publisher) 2025
0.99Publisher website ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.96LetPub ·
SNIP (publisher) 2025
0.96Publisher website ·
h-index
66LetPub ·
h-index
75OpenAlex ·
i10-index
746OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.38OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
16.7%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
33.9%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
115LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
446,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,614 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026743523
202513471262
202412071497
202310264787
20228750921
2021127661,507

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

94 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 71 days – 127 days

Acceptance to online
median 16 days (75 articles)
Submission to online
median 109 days
Sample
75 articles with submission and acceptance dates (254 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Acceptance rate (publisher)
40%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
18 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
33 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
15 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted9
  1. book reviewsThe journal accepts original articles, reports, reviews, case reports and other short reports, correspondence, point-counterpoint and illustrations, point-count…Length not stated
  2. case reportsThe journal accepts original articles, reports, reviews, case reports and other short reports, correspondence, point-counterpoint and illustrations, point-count…Length not stated
  3. correspondenceThe journal accepts original articles, reports, reviews, case reports and other short reports, correspondence, point-counterpoint and illustrations, point-count…Length not stated
  4. original articlesThe journal accepts original articles, reports, reviews, case reports and other short reports, correspondence, point-counterpoint and illustrations, point-count…Length not stated
  5. other short reportsThe journal accepts original articles, reports, reviews, case reports and other short reports, correspondence, point-counterpoint and illustrations, point-count…Length not stated
  6. point-counterpoint and illustrationsThe journal accepts original articles, reports, reviews, case reports and other short reports, correspondence, point-counterpoint and illustrations, point-count…Length not stated
  7. point-counterpoint itemsThe journal accepts original articles, reports, reviews, case reports and other short reports, correspondence, point-counterpoint and illustrations, point-count…Length not stated
  8. reportsThe journal accepts original articles, reports, reviews, case reports and other short reports, correspondence, point-counterpoint and illustrations, point-count…Length not stated
  9. reviewsThe journal accepts original articles, reports, reviews, case reports and other short reports, correspondence, point-counterpoint and illustrations, point-count…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
Open access Open access

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open ac…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Single-anonymized peer review policy. Model summary

The journal operates a single-anonymized peer review policy.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Informa Healthcare
Country or region
ENGLAND
Language
English
ISSN
2167-8421
Electronic ISSN
2167-9223
Society / sponsor
World Federation of Neurology Research Group on Motor Neuron Diseases
Latest issue on the website
Volume 27, Issue 5-6 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration

What CAS zone is Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Clinical Neurology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.54; CiteScore 4.7, h-index 75.

How long does peer review take at Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration?

Based on the dates recorded on 75 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 94 days (interquartile range 71–127 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 40%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration based?

Of the 3 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (1), United Kingdom (1) and Netherlands (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, Embase, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration open access, and what is the APC?

Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Frontotemporal Degeneration is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .