Journal profile · CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS
American Journal of Preventive Cardiology
ISSN 2666-6677 · Elsevier · United States
American Journal of Preventive Cardiology: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 5.4 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,440; median 35 days to acceptance (116 articles, last 24 months); 439 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
American Journal of Preventive Cardiology is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Lipoproteins and Cardiovascular Health, Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and Lipoproteins and Cardiovascular Health and Risk Factors, together about 34.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cardiology and Cardiovascular Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Published bi-monthly, The American Journal of Preventive Cardiology is the official journal the American Society for Preventive Cardiology . It publishes articles in the areas of prevention research, teaching, practice and policy. Original research and reviews are published on epidemiology and clinical studies on risk factors, behavioral and pharmacologic interventions aimed at the primary and secondary prevention of cardiovascular diseases and related conditions, as well as the promotion of individual and community cardiovascular health.The journal publishes both original research and review papers that address the key aspects of preventive cardiology, including the primary and secondary prevention of cardiovascular disease and related conditions including both behavioral (e.g., smoking, obesity, diet, and physical activity) and clinical (e.g., dyslipidemia, hypertension, and diabetes) aspects. Papers also address educational and other initiatives and methods aimed at improving the ability of cardiologists and healthcare professionals to provide effective clinical prevention and public health services. The journal also publishes guidelines and official policy statements from the Society, review articles, media reviews, and editorials. Finally, the journal periodically publishes special theme issues devoted to areas of current interest to the cardiac prevention community. Also included are editorials, readers' comments, and abstracts from the annual ASPC scientific sessions.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS
Editor-in-chief Khurram NasirPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 2%); most named United States 85, Canada 5, Australia 4, Mainland China 2, United Kingdom 2 (116 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Lipoproteins and Cardiovascular HealthMedicine16.8%
- Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and LipoproteinsMedicine10.9%
- Cardiovascular Health and Risk FactorsMedicine7.2%
- Cardiac Health and Mental HealthMedicine6.5%
- Cardiac Imaging and DiagnosticsMedicine5.7%
- Cardiovascular Disease and AdiposityMedicine4.6%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.4%
- Acute Myocardial Infarction ResearchMedicine4.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 5.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 6.2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.93LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.76LetPub ·
- h-index
- 42OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 225OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.44OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 3.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 215LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,588 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 393 | 393 | 184 |
| 2025 | 439 | 439 | 1,061 |
| 2024 | 265 | 265 | 1,429 |
| 2023 | 161 | 161 | 765 |
| 2022 | 90 | 90 | 2,072 |
| 2021 | 132 | 132 | 1,994 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
35 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 16 days – 59 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 1 days (116 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 38 days
- Sample
- 116 articles with submission and acceptance dates (567 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 10 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 8 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 52 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 96 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 10 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,440 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,900 / EUR 1,780 / GBP 1,520 / JPY 235,660 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 1,600 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,000 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted11, with length limits
- aspc clinical practice statement5) ASPC Clinical practice statement (no word limit)Length not stated
- aspc news6) ASPC news (e.g., President's message, advertisement, abstracts, or other news)Length not stated
- brief communication1) Original research contribution (usually under 4,000 words but exceptions can be made) 2) State-of-the-art review (usually under 5,000 words but exceptions ca…main text ≤ 1,200 words
- commentary1) Original research contribution (usually under 4,000 words but exceptions can be made) 2) State-of-the-art review (usually under 5,000 words but exceptions ca…main text ≤ 2,000 words
- letter1) Original research contribution (usually under 4,000 words but exceptions can be made) 2) State-of-the-art review (usually under 5,000 words but exceptions ca…Length not stated
- original research1) Original research contribution (usually under 4,000 words but exceptions can be made) 2) State-of-the-art review (usually under 5,000 words but exceptions ca…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- original research contribution1) Original research contribution (usually under 4,000 words but exceptions can be made)Length not stated
- perspective1) Original research contribution (usually under 4,000 words but exceptions can be made) 2) State-of-the-art review (usually under 5,000 words but exceptions ca…Length not stated
- review1) Original research contribution (usually under 4,000 words but exceptions can be made) 2) State-of-the-art review (usually under 5,000 words but exceptions ca…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- state-of-the-art review2) State-of-the-art review (usually under 5,000 words but exceptions can be made)Length not stated
- viewpoint1) Original research contribution (usually under 4,000 words but exceptions can be made) 2) State-of-the-art review (usually under 5,000 words but exceptions ca…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Open access options available Model summary
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2666-6677
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about American Journal of Preventive Cardiology
What CAS zone is American Journal of Preventive Cardiology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, American Journal of Preventive Cardiology is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of American Journal of Preventive Cardiology?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 5.4; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 6.2, h-index 42.
How long does peer review take at American Journal of Preventive Cardiology?
Based on the dates recorded on 116 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 35 days (interquartile range 16–59 days); authors report an average review time of about 10 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of American Journal of Preventive Cardiology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of American Journal of Preventive Cardiology based?
Of the 116 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (85), Canada (5) and Australia (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index American Journal of Preventive Cardiology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, American Journal of Preventive Cardiology is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is American Journal of Preventive Cardiology open access, and what is the APC?
American Journal of Preventive Cardiology is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,440.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .