Journal profile · HEALTH CARE SCIENCES & SERVICES
American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine
ISSN 1049-9091 · eISSN 1938-2715 · SAGE Publications Inc. · UNITED STATES · Bimonthly · Founded 1990
American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.39; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,150; review about 55 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); community-reported acceptance: easy; 205 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine is published by SAGE Publications Inc. and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Palliative Care and End-of-Life Issues, Grief, Bereavement, and Mental Health and Childhood Cancer Survivors' Quality of Life, together about 48.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Health Professions. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine (AJHPM) is a peer-reviewed journal, published monthly. In 40 years of publication, AJHPM has highlighted the interdisciplinary team approach to hospice and palliative medicine as related to the care of the patient and family. This journal, therefore, appeals to members of the team including physicians, nurses, … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): HEALTH CARE SCIENCES & SERVICES
Editor-in-chief Robert E. EnckPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 40, Hong Kong, China 1, United Kingdom 1, Australia 1 (43 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Palliative Care and End-of-Life IssuesMedicine33.4%
- Grief, Bereavement, and Mental HealthPsychology8.8%
- Childhood Cancer Survivors' Quality of LifeMedicine6.8%
- Patient Dignity and PrivacyMedicine5.5%
- Pain Management and Opioid UseMedicine5.5%
- Family and Patient Care in Intensive Care UnitsHealth Professions5.4%
- Cancer survivorship and careMedicine4.9%
- Geriatric Care and Nursing HomesHealth Professions4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Health Care Sciences & Services | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Health Care Sciences & Services | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Health Care Sciences & Services | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.39LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.4Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.66LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.97LetPub ·
- h-index
- 45LetPub ·
- h-index
- 86OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,758OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.33OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 7.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 14.03%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 206LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 4,394 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 150 | 71 | 13 |
| 2025 | 205 | 84 | 210 |
| 2024 | 168 | 89 | 474 |
| 2023 | 183 | 92 | 1,042 |
| 2022 | 185 | 57 | 1,284 |
| 2021 | 206 | 72 | 2,576 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
55 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports 6–12 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 44.4%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 1 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 34 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 55 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 10 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,150 / GBP 3,043 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 6
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 3,000 words
- Reference style
- AMA
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- commentaryAJHMP publishes original research (3,000 words), reviews (4,000 words), letters (1,500 words), invited commentaries and editorials (2,000 words). An abstract of…main text ≤ 2,000 words
- editorialAJHMP publishes original research (3,000 words), reviews (4,000 words), letters (1,500 words), invited commentaries and editorials (2,000 words). An abstract of…Length not stated
- letterAJHMP publishes original research (3,000 words), reviews (4,000 words), letters (1,500 words), invited commentaries and editorials (2,000 words). An abstract of…main text ≤ 1,500 words
- lettersAJHMP publishes original research (3,000 words), reviews (4,000 words), letters (1,500 words), invited commentaries and editorials (2,000 words).Length not stated
- original researchAJHMP publishes original research (3,000 words), reviews (4,000 words), letters (1,500 words), invited commentaries and editorials (2,000 words). An abstract of…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- reviewAJHMP publishes original research (3,000 words), reviews (4,000 words), letters (1,500 words), invited commentaries and editorials (2,000 words). An abstract of…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- reviewsAJHMP publishes original research (3,000 words), reviews (4,000 words), letters (1,500 words), invited commentaries and editorials (2,000 words).Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Author contributions
You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at no cost. If you wish to have color figures in the printed version, the following fees apply: $800 for the first image and $200 for each additional image. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice program, and …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Email alerts available for new content and tables of contents Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single Anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publications Inc.
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1990
- ISSN
- 1049-9091
- Electronic ISSN
- 1938-2715
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine
What CAS zone is American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Health Care Sciences & Services. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.39; CiteScore 3.7, h-index 86.
How long does peer review take at American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine?
The publisher reports about 55 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 44.4%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 6; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words; Reference style: AMA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine based?
Of the 43 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (40), Hong Kong, China (1) and United Kingdom (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine open access, and what is the APC?
American Journal of Hospice & Palliative Medicine is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,150.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .