Journal profile · CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS
American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice
ISSN 2666-6022 · Elsevier
American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.3 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,950; median 121 days to acceptance (113 articles, last 24 months); 207 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Cardiac Imaging and Diagnostics, Acute Myocardial Infarction Research and Heart Failure Treatment and Management, together about 29.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cardiology and Cardiovascular Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
AHJ Plus: Cardiology Research & Practice is a new Open Access (OA) journal dedicated to publishing quality, scientifically sound research on all facets of cardiovascular medicine research, disease, and treatment. All articles will be subject to rigorous peer review. The Journal will provide a forum for both clinical and experimental studies and will seek submissions from around the world. AHJ Plus: Cardiology Research & Practice serves as a strong platform for international research, particularly in underserved author markets. It is a broad-based journal, accepting original research and review articles from across the cardiology discipline.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): CARDIAC & CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEMS
Editor-in-chief Carl J. PepinePublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 1%); most named United States 87, Canada 6, Australia 4, Netherlands 3, United Kingdom 2 (114 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Cardiac Imaging and DiagnosticsMedicine10.7%
- Acute Myocardial Infarction ResearchMedicine10.2%
- Heart Failure Treatment and ManagementMedicine8.5%
- Cardiovascular Function and Risk FactorsMedicine8.3%
- Atrial Fibrillation Management and OutcomesMedicine5.3%
- Coronary Interventions and DiagnosticsMedicine4.9%
- Mechanical Circulatory Support DevicesEngineering4.3%
- Cardiac Health and Mental HealthMedicine3.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.3LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 3.3Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.75LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.77LetPub ·
- h-index
- 23OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 74OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.24OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 4.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 99.73%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 168LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 886 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 204 | 204 | 19 |
| 2025 | 207 | 207 | 248 |
| 2024 | 133 | 133 | 408 |
| 2023 | 101 | 101 | 629 |
| 2022 | 162 | 162 | 1,134 |
| 2021 | 77 | 77 | 689 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
121 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 68 days – 170 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 2 days (113 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 122 days
- Sample
- 113 articles with submission and acceptance dates (411 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Submission to first decision
- 4 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 62 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 102 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,950 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,810 / EUR 2,630 / GBP 2,250 / JPY 348,520 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,040 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers3, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
Article types accepted2
- correspondenceResearch PaperThe manuscript must include the following arranged in this order: Title Page, Structured Abstract (to include these headings: Study Objective, Des…Length not stated
- research paperResearch PaperLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- ISSN
- 2666-6022
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice
What CAS zone is American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Cardiac & Cardiovascular Systems. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.3; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.3, h-index 23.
How long does peer review take at American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice?
Based on the dates recorded on 113 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 121 days (interquartile range 68–170 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice based?
Of the 114 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 1%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (87), Canada (6) and Australia (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice open access, and what is the APC?
American Heart Journal Plus: Cardiology Research and Practice is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,950.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .