Journal profile · Multiple

Aging Brain

ISSN 2589-9589 · Elsevier · United States

Aging Brain: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.8 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,590; median 136 days to acceptance (38 articles, last 24 months); 20 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor2.8From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time136 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 38 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 2,590Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year202025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Aging Brain is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Alzheimer's disease research and treatments, Functional Brain Connectivity Studies and Dementia and Cognitive Impairment Research, together about 37.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cognitive Neuroscience. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Aging Brain is an Open Access journal that complements Neurobiology of Aging which, in its 40th anniversary in 2020, is the premier journal in the field of aging neuroscience. Aging Brain will publish papers that contribute to knowledge of the mechanisms underlying healthy (or adaptive) and pathological aging of the brain, as well as the iterative communication of signals between the brain, other organs and the external environment that promote or disrupt the mental health span. Papers that employ multiple levels of analysis, that integrate knowledge from established and emerging disciplines and technological developments, and which demonstrate translation into improved medical approaches, are particularly welcome.The journal accepts: Original research, Reviews, Short Communications, Point of Interest and Letters to the Editor, provided they demonstrate originality, scientific rigor, observance of ethical standards and represent a significant contribution to the field.At the same time, and notwithstanding the above-mentioned criteria, it will serve as a platform for the presentation early reports and ideas that will stimulate research on brain aging.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Multiple

Editor-in-chief Osborne AlmeidaPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named United States 11, Japan 6, France 6, Switzerland 4, United Kingdom 3 (58 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Alzheimer's disease research and treatmentsMedicine12.7%
  2. Functional Brain Connectivity StudiesNeuroscience12.7%
  3. Dementia and Cognitive Impairment ResearchMedicine12.3%
  4. Memory and Neural MechanismsNeuroscience4.6%
  5. Neural and Behavioral Psychology StudiesNeuroscience4.2%
  6. Neuroinflammation and Neurodegeneration MechanismsNeuroscience4.2%
  7. Advanced Neuroimaging Techniques and ApplicationsMedicine4.2%
  8. Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology ResearchNeuroscience3.5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorClinical NeurologyZone 4
MinorGeriatrics & GerontologyZone 4
MinorNeurosciencesZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorGeriatrics & GerontologyZone 4
MinorClinical NeurologyZone 4
MinorNeurosciencesZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
2.8Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
5.1LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
5.1Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.98LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.72LetPub ·
h-index
20OpenAlex ·
i10-index
41OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.63OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
20LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 164 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202614140
2025202061
20242828102
20234242383
20223636561
20212424210

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

136 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 91 days – 213 days

Acceptance to online
median 8 days (38 articles)
Submission to online
median 145 days
Sample
38 articles with submission and acceptance dates (40 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 10 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
6 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
65 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
114 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
9 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 18 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,590YesCC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexUSD 2,120 / EUR 1,980 / GBP 1,700 / JPY 262,940——
LetPubUSD 2,000Yes—
Publisher websiteUSD 3,180——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Manuscript length
≤ 6,500 words
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted9
  1. hypothesisOriginal research - Full length Research Papers of original experimental or clinical research: max. 6500 words (including tables and legends to figures) and no …Length not stated
  2. junior researcher forumJunior Researcher Forum - is a space dedicated to presentations by Junior Researchers (up to 6 years after obtaining PhD).Length not stated
  3. original researchOriginal research - Full length Research Papers of original experimental or clinical research: max. 6500 words (including tables and legends to figures) and no …Length not stated
  4. points of interestPoints of Interest - these brief (max. 1,500 words and 1 illustration), citable items may comment on other studies published in the Journal, or describe phenome…Length not stated
  5. research paperOriginal research - Full length Research Papers of original experimental or clinical research: max. 6500 words (including tables and legends to figures) and no …Length not stated
  6. reviewOriginal research - Full length Research Papers of original experimental or clinical research: max. 6500 words (including tables and legends to figures) and no …Length not stated
  7. reviewsReviews - Individual, unsolicited reviews will be considered only in exceptional cases.Length not stated
  8. short communicationOriginal research - Full length Research Papers of original experimental or clinical research: max. 6500 words (including tables and legends to figures) and no …Length not stated
  9. short communicationsShort Communications - will be accepted on the basis of their theme and the novelty of the approach and data reported.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

Open access journal Model summary

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Single anonymized review process Model summary

This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier
Country or region
United States
Language
English
ISSN
2589-9589
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Aging Brain

What CAS zone is Aging Brain in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Aging Brain is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Clinical Neurology / Geriatrics & Gerontology / Neurosciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Aging Brain?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.8; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 5.1, h-index 20.

How long does peer review take at Aging Brain?

Based on the dates recorded on 38 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 136 days (interquartile range 91–213 days); authors report an average review time of about 10 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Aging Brain?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,500 words. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Aging Brain based?

Of the 58 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (11), Japan (6) and France (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Aging Brain?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Aging Brain is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Aging Brain open access, and what is the APC?

Aging Brain is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,590.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .