Journal profile · OPHTHALMOLOGY
African Vision and Eye Health Journal
ISSN 0378-9411 · eISSN 2410-1516
African Vision and Eye Health Journal: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); fully open access; APC about USD 615; 41 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
African Vision and Eye Health Journal is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Ophthalmology and Visual Impairment Studies, Glaucoma and retinal disorders and Visual perception and processing mechanisms, together about 41.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Ophthalmology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
In 2025, the inclusion of AI policies became compulsory for all SciELO SA journals. Authors using AI-assisted technology must disclose their use in manuscripts to ensure transparency, accuracy, and trust. Guidance is available in the Plagiarism, Fabrication and Artificial Intelligence Policy page and the Submission Guidelines under 'AI-assisted technologies' in the formatting requirements. Not sure if this journal is indexed in SciELO SA? Please check our Indexing Services page.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): OPHTHALMOLOGY
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named South Africa 10, United Kingdom 1, Nigeria 1 (12 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Ophthalmology and Visual Impairment StudiesMedicine26.3%
- Glaucoma and retinal disordersMedicine8.2%
- Visual perception and processing mechanismsNeuroscience7.1%
- Corneal surgery and disordersMedicine7%
- Retinal Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine6%
- Ophthalmology and Visual Health ResearchMedicine6%
- Ocular Surface and Contact LensMedicine5.8%
- Ergonomics and Musculoskeletal DisordersPsychology5.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Ophthalmology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Ophthalmology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
ESCIWeb of ScienceScopusEmbaseSciELOPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 0.8Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 24OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 104OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.83OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 98.73%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 9LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 5,874,844Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 697 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 31 | 31 | 355 |
| 2025 | 41 | 41 | 469 |
| 2024 | 49 | 49 | 433 |
| 2023 | 29 | 29 | 378 |
| 2022 | 51 | 51 | 403 |
| 2021 | 42 | 42 | 295 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | ZAR 11,336 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 8
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 8,000 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted10
- book reviewsA book review is brief insights or opinions on new books within the research field of the journal.Length not stated
- case reportsA detailed account of a specific patient as a case study. The patient study should highlight a critical issue that is relevant to the field of family medicine a…Length not stated
- correctionsCorrectionsLength not stated
- editorialsEditorialsLength not stated
- in memoriamIn MemoriamLength not stated
- letter to the editorLetter to the EditorLength not stated
- opinion paperOpinion PaperLength not stated
- original research articlesAn original article provides an overview of innovative research in a particular field within or related to the focus and scope of the journal, presented accordi…Length not stated
- research notesResearch NotesLength not stated
- review articlesReview articles provide a comprehensive summary of research on a certain topic, and a perspective on the state of the field and where it is heading. These artic…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints
- AI use Disclosure of AI-assisted technologies
AI-assisted technology use must be disclosed in manuscripts for transparency, accuracy, and trust. Model summary
The Acknowledgements section must include a clear statement disclosing any use of generative AI or AI-assisted technologies (e.g., for data analysis, dataset or artefact creation) in conducting the research. This statement should: Be specific by naming the exact AI tool(s) used. State the purpose of the tool’s use, such as artefact creation or data analysis. Disclose human oversight by confirming …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Disclosure of contributors not qualifying for authorship
The acknowledgement section includes listing those who contributed to the work but did not meet authorship criteria, with the corresponding description of the contribution. Acknowledge anyone who provided intellectual assistance, technical help (incl. editing), or special equipment and/or materials. Authors are responsible for ensuring that anyone named in the Acknowledgements agrees to be named. …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Disclosures
Authors are required to disclose any prior dissemination of the manuscript content. This includes, but is not limited to: Thesis-based work (e.g., master's or doctoral theses). Preprint versions that are published on open repositories. Refer to our Frequently Asked Questions: Questions from Authors - Preprints. Conference papers or presentations that were expanded into an article. Additionally, au…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability statement
All research articles should have a data availability statement included in the manuscript in the form of a sentence under a separate heading entitled ‘Data availability statement’. The following are examples of a data availability statement. If you use one of the examples, you should modify it to fit your specific relationship. Availability of data Suggested data availability statements Example 1…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access OPEN ACCESS
Open access under CC BY 4.0. Model summary
All articles published in this journal are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) license, unless otherwise stated.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double-blinded peer review; authors must anonymise manuscripts. Model summary
The journal follows a double-blinded peer-review process, and you need to make your manuscript anonymous. This is to ensure that reviewers would not be able to identify you, your co-authors, or the institution where the research was carried out, ensuring that the review process is as objective as possible.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Journal has a Plagiarism, Fabrication and Artificial Intelligence Policy. Model summary
Guidance is available in the Plagiarism, Fabrication and Artificial Intelligence Policy page
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Disclosure of preprint-based content
Scenario Suggested preprint-based disclosures Example 1 A preprint version of this work was previously published on [Preprint Server Name] ([DOI or link]), and we acknowledge its role in shaping the final article. Example 2 – preprint feedback incorporated in the final manuscript We acknowledge the initial version of this work published as a preprint on [Preprint Server Name] ([DOI or link]). Feed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- ISSN
- 0378-9411
- Print ISSN
- 2413-3183
- Electronic ISSN
- 2410-1516
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about African Vision and Eye Health Journal
What CAS zone is African Vision and Eye Health Journal in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, African Vision and Eye Health Journal is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Ophthalmology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What are the manuscript requirements of African Vision and Eye Health Journal?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 8; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of African Vision and Eye Health Journal based?
Of the 12 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are South Africa (10), United Kingdom (1) and Nigeria (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index African Vision and Eye Health Journal?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, African Vision and Eye Health Journal is indexed in DOAJ. The journal's website also lists ESCI, Web of Science, Scopus, Embase and SciELO; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is African Vision and Eye Health Journal open access, and what is the APC?
African Vision and Eye Health Journal is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 615.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .