Journal profile · Health Professions-Optometry
African Vision and Eye Health
ISSN 2413-3183 · eISSN 2410-1516 · OpenJournals Publishing AOSIS (Pty) Ltd · South Africa
African Vision and Eye Health: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2026 Xinrui edition); fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 30 weeks (community reports); 41 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
African Vision and Eye Health is published by OpenJournals Publishing AOSIS (Pty) Ltd and is classed under Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Ophthalmology and Visual Impairment Studies, Corneal surgery and disorders and Glaucoma and retinal disorders, together about 36.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Radiology, Nuclear Medicine and Imaging and Ophthalmology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
In 2025, the inclusion of AI policies became compulsory for all SciELO SA journals. Authors using AI-assisted technology must disclose their use in manuscripts to ensure transparency, accuracy, and trust. Guidance is available in the Plagiarism, Fabrication and Artificial Intelligence Policy page and the Submission Guidelines under 'AI-assisted technologies' in the formatting requirements. Not sure if this journal is indexed in SciELO SA? Please check our Indexing Services page.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Health Professions-Optometry
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named South Africa 10, United Kingdom 1, Nigeria 1 (12 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Ophthalmology and Visual Impairment StudiesMedicine17.8%
- Corneal surgery and disordersMedicine10.3%
- Glaucoma and retinal disordersMedicine8.1%
- Ophthalmology and Visual Health ResearchMedicine8%
- Ocular Surface and Contact LensMedicine6%
- Retinal Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine5.4%
- Retinal Imaging and AnalysisMedicine5.1%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Ophthalmology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceEmbaseSciELOPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.1LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 0.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.27LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.44LetPub ·
- h-index
- 24OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 102OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.75OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 12.5%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 38LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 335Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 5,874,844Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 696 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 30 | 30 | 1 |
| 2025 | 41 | 41 | 22 |
| 2024 | 49 | 49 | 67 |
| 2023 | 29 | 29 | 87 |
| 2022 | 51 | 51 | 130 |
| 2021 | 42 | 42 | 204 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 30 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 30 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | ZAR 14,184 | No | CC BY | |
| OpenAlex | ZAR 11,336 | — | — | |
| LetPub | ZAR 10,724 | No | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 8
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 8,000 words
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted13
- book reviewsA book review is brief insights or opinions on new books within the research field of the journal.Length not stated
- case reportsA detailed account of a specific patient as a case study.Length not stated
- correctionCorrectionLength not stated
- correctionsCorrectionsLength not stated
- editorialsEditorialsLength not stated
- in memoriamIn MemoriamLength not stated
- letter to the editorLetter to the EditorLength not stated
- opinion paperOpinion PaperLength not stated
- original researchOriginal ResearchLength not stated
- original research articlesAn original article provides an overview of innovative research in a particular field within or related to the focus and scope of the journal, presented accordi…Length not stated
- research notesResearch NotesLength not stated
- review articleReview ArticleLength not stated
- review articlesReview articles provide a comprehensive summary of research on a certain topic, and a perspective on the state of the field and where it is heading.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Disclosure of AI-assisted technologies
AI-assisted technology must be disclosed in manuscripts. Model summary
The Acknowledgements section must include a clear statement disclosing any use of generative AI or AI-assisted technologies (e.g., for data analysis, dataset or artefact creation) in conducting the research. This statement should: Be specific by naming the exact AI tool(s) used. State the purpose of the tool’s use, such as artefact creation or data analysis. Disclose human oversight by confirming …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Disclosure of contributors not qualifying for authorship
Authors retain copyright. Model summary
The acknowledgement section includes listing those who contributed to the work but did not meet authorship criteria, with the corresponding description of the contribution. Acknowledge anyone who provided intellectual assistance, technical help (incl. editing), or special equipment and/or materials. Authors are responsible for ensuring that anyone named in the Acknowledgements agrees to be named. …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Disclosures
Authors are required to disclose any prior dissemination of the manuscript content. This includes, but is not limited to: Thesis-based work (e.g., master's or doctoral theses). Preprint versions that are published on open repositories. Refer to our Frequently Asked Questions: Questions from Authors - Preprints. Conference papers or presentations that were expanded into an article. Additionally, au…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability statement
All research articles should have a data availability statement included in the manuscript in the form of a sentence under a separate heading entitled ‘Data availability statement’. The following are examples of a data availability statement. If you use one of the examples, you should modify it to fit your specific relationship. Availability of data Suggested data availability statements Example 1…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
Open access under CC BY 4.0. Model summary
All articles published in this journal are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) license, unless otherwise stated.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access OPEN ACCESS
Article processing charges apply. Model summary
All articles published in this journal are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) license, unless otherwise stated.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double-blinded peer review; authors must anonymise manuscripts. Model summary
The journal follows a double-blinded peer-review process, and you need to make your manuscript anonymous.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Disclosure of preprint-based content
Scenario Suggested preprint-based disclosures Example 1 A preprint version of this work was previously published on [Preprint Server Name] ([DOI or link]), and we acknowledge its role in shaping the final article. Example 2 – preprint feedback incorporated in the final manuscript We acknowledge the initial version of this work published as a preprint on [Preprint Server Name] ([DOI or link]). Feed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- OpenJournals Publishing AOSIS (Pty) Ltd
- Country or region
- South Africa
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2413-3183
- Electronic ISSN
- 2410-1516
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about African Vision and Eye Health
What CAS zone is African Vision and Eye Health in?
In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
How long does peer review take at African Vision and Eye Health?
Authors report an average review time of about 30 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of African Vision and Eye Health?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 8; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of African Vision and Eye Health based?
Of the 12 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are South Africa (10), United Kingdom (1) and Nigeria (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index African Vision and Eye Health?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, African Vision and Eye Health is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, Embase and SciELO; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is African Vision and Eye Health open access, and what is the APC?
African Vision and Eye Health is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .