Journal profile · Agricultural and Biological Sciences-Agricultural and Biological Sciences (miscellaneous)
African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development
ISSN 1684-5358 · eISSN 1684-5374 · African Scholarly Science Communications Trust (ASSCAT) · Kenya
African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development: fully open access; APC about USD 750; review about 24 weeks (community reports); 162 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
The latest issue on the journal's website is from 2024 (Volume 24, Issue 1): the journal may have stopped publishing or moved platform in the last two years. Check its website before submitting.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development is published by African Scholarly Science Communications Trust (ASSCAT). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Food and Agricultural Sciences, Child Nutrition and Water Access and Agricultural Innovations and Practices, together about 33.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Nutrition and Dietetics and General Agricultural and Biological Sciences. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development (AJFAND) is a peer reviewed scholarly journal. The journal is envisaged to enable dissemination and sharing of food and nutrition information issues on the continent. It taps social science, biochemical, food and nutrition related research and information. It also addresses issues related to agriculture, food security, and nutrition that affect Africa’s development and people’s livelihoods. It targets and is intended to serve the research and intellectual community; African and international non-governmental organizations (NGOs); African and development oriented bilateral and multilateral agencies; and African public institutions working towards solving food and nutrition problems through sound policies, and addressing issues that affect the African continent. AJFAND is open to both African and non-African contributors. Besides academic research, the journal provides an avenue for sharing information on national-level food and nutrition programs. QUALITY remains the driver of our efforts and not QUANTITY. The journal carries out a major mentoring and capacity building role for budding African scholars, and also gives visibility to African scholars in general by highlighting and sharing their work internationally. Other websites related to this journal: http://www.ajfand.net
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Agricultural and Biological Sciences-Agricultural and Biological Sciences (miscellaneous)
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Kenya 8, United States 6, Nigeria 6, Canada 3, Brazil 3 (31 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Food and Agricultural SciencesAgricultural and Biological Sciences12.9%
- Child Nutrition and Water AccessNursing12.5%
- Agricultural Innovations and PracticesAgricultural and Biological Sciences7.8%
- Food Security and Socioeconomic DynamicsAgricultural and Biological Sciences7.5%
- Agricultural Development and ManagementAgricultural and Biological Sciences5.4%
- Public Health and NutritionMedicine5.4%
- Nutrition, Health and Food BehaviorNursing4.4%
- Food Safety and HygieneAgricultural and Biological Sciences3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agricultural and Biological Sciences (miscellaneous) | Q3 | 176/253 | 30th |
| Development | Q3 | 225/314 | 28th |
| Food Science | Q4 | 326/420 | 22nd |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.2LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.21LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.32LetPub ·
- h-index
- 55OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 553OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.8OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,421 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 131 | 131 | 999 |
| 2025 | 162 | 162 | 1,588 |
| 2024 | 203 | 203 | 1,805 |
| 2023 | 170 | 170 | 1,959 |
| 2022 | 175 | 175 | 1,875 |
| 2021 | 139 | 139 | 1,925 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 24 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 24 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 750 | No | CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 750 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 750 | No | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 750 | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- USD 750
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 300–400 words
- Keywords
- 8–10
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Not considered
- Newspaper or Wikipedia citations
Article types accepted5, with length limits
- letters to the editorLetters to the editor should not exceed 500 words.Length not stated
- original articlesOriginal articles should present data and information from original research.Length not stated
- reviewsReviews must be critical analyses of the subjects reviewed, giving the current and balanced view of all the issues, for instance controversies.Length not stated
- short communicationords for original articles and reviews. Short communication word count should not exceed 1000 words, and Letters to the editor should not exceed 500 words. Orimain text ≤ 1,000 words
- short communicationsShort communications should focus on any interesting findings/news an author wishes to convey to the readers of AJFAND.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Publication ethics, License & copyright
- Authorship
ORCID number required on cover page at submission Model summary
Authors to also indicate their ORCID number on the (cover page) on submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Evidence of ethics committee approval required for studies on humans Model summary
Any author whose manuscript is associated with a study on humans must supply evidence that the appropriate Ethics Committee was satisfied and approved the study.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 International license Model summary
AJFAND is open access and published under the Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 International license
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- African Scholarly Science Communications Trust (ASSCAT)
- Country or region
- Kenya
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1684-5358
- Electronic ISSN
- 1684-5374
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 24, Issue 1 (2024)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development
How long does peer review take at African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development?
Authors report an average review time of about 24 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 300–400 words; Keywords: 8–10; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development based?
Of the 31 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Kenya (8), United States (6) and Nigeria (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development open access, and what is the APC?
African Journal of Food, Agriculture, Nutrition and Development is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 750.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .