Journal profile · Medicine-Ophthalmology
Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research
ISSN 2667-3762 · Elsevier · United States
Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2026 Xinrui edition); impact factor 4.5 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 1,600; median 98 days to acceptance (72 articles, last 24 months); 50 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research is published by Elsevier and is classed under Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Ophthalmology and Visual Impairment Studies, Glaucoma and retinal disorders and Retinal Diseases and Treatments, together about 30.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Ophthalmology and Radiology, Nuclear Medicine and Imaging. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research (AOPR) is an English scientific, online, peer-reviewed, international and fully open-access journal. The Journal will publish clinical and basic research articles in various subspecialties of ophthalmology and related interdisciplinary and translational medicine fields, reporting advanced eye-related technologies. It aims to provide an academic communication platform for ophthalmic clinicians and scientists to promote the development of ophthalmology-related scientific research, to promote the progress of clinical diagnosis and treatment technology in ophthalmology, and ultimately contribute to the improvement of overall health.Our broad scope ensures that the research published in this journal reaches the widest possible audience with an interest in Ophthalmology and related fields. The journal will publish a variety of article types, including original research, review articles, short communications, practice guidelines, opinions, editorials, comments, correspondence, and meeting reports. AOPR intends to cover the topics of interest that include, but are not limited to the following:Clinical research on novel diagnostic techniques, treatment methods and new drugs for ocular diseases.New clinical findings of eye and ocular diseases, rare or unique ocular disorders, epidemiology of ocular diseases.Interdisciplinary research on eye, vision science and clinical application of ophthalmology, such as materials science, computer technology, biomechanics, etc.Translational Research on diagnosis and treatment of eye diseases.Advanced basic research in ocular diseases, eye function and visual science.An official journal of the Second Affiliated Hospital of Zhejiang University, School of Medicine and the Zhejiang University Press.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Ophthalmology
Editor-in-chief Ke YaoPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 23 in mainland China (about 37%); most named Mainland China 23, United States 15, Germany 5, Japan 3, Hong Kong, China 2 (63 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Ophthalmology and Visual Impairment StudiesMedicine10.8%
- Glaucoma and retinal disordersMedicine10.4%
- Retinal Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine9.5%
- Corneal surgery and disordersMedicine7.9%
- Intraocular Surgery and LensesMedicine6.8%
- Ocular Surface and Contact LensMedicine4.3%
- Retinal and Macular SurgeryMedicine4.3%
- Retinal Imaging and AnalysisMedicine4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Ophthalmology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 4.5Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 6.7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.3LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.67LetPub ·
- h-index
- 20OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 39OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 4.75OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 4.4%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 38LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 224 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 36 | 36 | 7 |
| 2025 | 50 | 50 | 193 |
| 2024 | 53 | 53 | 460 |
| 2023 | 28 | 28 | 239 |
| 2022 | 39 | 39 | 486 |
| 2021 | 18 | 18 | 272 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
98 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 81 days – 126 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 1 days (72 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 107 days
- Sample
- 72 articles with submission and acceptance dates (85 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 14 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 36 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 96 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 1 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 23 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 1,600 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,600 / EUR 1,500 / GBP 1,280 / JPY 198,450 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 1,600 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 1,600 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 1
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
Article types accepted13
- commentariesCommentaries: Articles designed to allow experts from across ophthalmology to present their view on a 'hot topic' or emerging field. Comments offer insight and …Length not stated
- commentarySubmissions are divided into the Article Types listed below. Please select the appropriate Article Type to start the submission.Commentaries: Articles designed …Length not stated
- editorialSubmissions are divided into the Article Types listed below. Please select the appropriate Article Type to start the submission.Commentaries: Articles designed …Length not stated
- letterSubmissions are divided into the Article Types listed below. Please select the appropriate Article Type to start the submission.Commentaries: Articles designed …Length not stated
- letters to the editorSubmissions are divided into the Article Types listed below. Please select the appropriate Article Type to start the submission.Commentaries: Articles designed …Length not stated
- meta-analysisSubmissions are divided into the Article Types listed below. Please select the appropriate Article Type to start the submission.Commentaries: Articles designed …Length not stated
- opinionSubmissions are divided into the Article Types listed below. Please select the appropriate Article Type to start the submission.Commentaries: Articles designed …Length not stated
- original research papersOriginal Research Papers: Includes clinical and basic research full length articlesLength not stated
- perspectiveSubmissions are divided into the Article Types listed below. Please select the appropriate Article Type to start the submission.Commentaries: Articles designed …Length not stated
- research paperSubmissions are divided into the Article Types listed below. Please select the appropriate Article Type to start the submission.Commentaries: Articles designed …Length not stated
- reviewSubmissions are divided into the Article Types listed below. Please select the appropriate Article Type to start the submission.Commentaries: Articles designed …Length not stated
- review articlesReview Articles: Systematic reviews of research and meta-analyses that may be submitted to the journal or invited by the Editors.Length not stated
- systematic reviewSubmissions are divided into the Article Types listed below. Please select the appropriate Article Type to start the submission.Commentaries: Articles designed …Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2667-3762
- Society / sponsor
- Second Affiliated Hospital of Zhejiang University
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research
What CAS zone is Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research in?
In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 4.5; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 6.7, h-index 20.
How long does peer review take at Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research?
Based on the dates recorded on 72 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 98 days (interquartile range 81–126 days); authors report an average review time of about 14 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 1; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research based?
Of the 63 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 23 (about 37%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (23), United States (15) and Germany (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research open access, and what is the APC?
Advances in Ophthalmology Practice and Research is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,600.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .