Journal profile · PSYCHIATRY

Advances in Mental Health

ISSN 1838-7357 · eISSN 1837-4905 · Taylor & Francis

Advances in Mental Health: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.8 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 234 days to acceptance (101 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 15% (journal website); 49 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor1.8From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time234 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 101 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCCharged, amount not publishedHybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance15%From the journal's website
Articles per year492025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Advances in Mental Health is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional Development, Mental Health Treatment and Access and Mental Health and Patient Involvement, together about 32% of its articles. Its main subfields are Clinical Psychology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Advances in Mental Health: Promotion, Prevention and Early Intervention is a contemporary peer-reviewed journal for advancing promotion, prevention and early intervention approaches to mental health. Advances in Mental Health's readership includes mental health practitioners, researchers, students, lecturers, clinicians, nurses, social workers, carers, mediators, counsellors, consumers, commentators and policy developers. The Editors welcome original research articles, literature reviews, journal abstracts and reviews of relevant multimedia products.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): PSYCHIATRY

Editor-in-chief Andrea ReupertPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Australia 6, Hong Kong, China 1 (7 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional DevelopmentPsychology11.9%
  2. Mental Health Treatment and AccessPsychology10.3%
  3. Mental Health and Patient InvolvementHealth Professions9.8%
  4. Maternal Mental Health During Pregnancy and PostpartumMedicine5.8%
  5. Suicide and Self-Harm StudiesPsychology5.4%
  6. Family Caregiving in Mental IllnessPsychology5.2%
  7. Family Support in IllnessSocial Sciences5%
  8. Family and Disability Support ResearchPsychology4.8%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorPsychiatryZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorPsychiatryZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

ESCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

ProQuest, EBSCOhost, GalePublisher website

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.8Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.7Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
3.7LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
3.7Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.58LetPub ·
SJR (publisher) 2025
0.58Publisher website ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.77LetPub ·
SNIP (publisher) 2025
0.77Publisher website ·
h-index
47OpenAlex ·
i10-index
277OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.55OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
16.7%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
22.22%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
48LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
129,000Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 776 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202650295
2025492867
20244721155
20233820241
2022217109
2021257294

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

234 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 154 days – 363 days

Acceptance to online
median 16 days (101 articles)
Submission to online
median 269 days
Sample
101 articles with submission and acceptance dates (107 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Acceptance rate (publisher)
15%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
4 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
87 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
18 daysPublisher website ·

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted4
  1. journal abstractsThe Editors welcome original research articles, literature reviews, journal abstracts and reviews of relevant multimedia products.Length not stated
  2. literature reviewsThe Editors welcome original research articles, literature reviews, journal abstracts and reviews of relevant multimedia products.Length not stated
  3. original research articlesThe Editors welcome original research articles, literature reviews, journal abstracts and reviews of relevant multimedia products.Length not stated
  4. reviews of relevant multimedia productsThe Editors welcome original research articles, literature reviews, journal abstracts and reviews of relevant multimedia products.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
Open access Open access

Open access publishing option (Open Select hybrid) available. Model summary

Advances in Mental Health is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverability a…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Rigorous peer review for every open access article Model summary

Rigorous peer review for every open access article

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Taylor & Francis
ISSN
1838-7357
Electronic ISSN
1837-4905
Latest issue on the website
Volume 23, Issue 3 (2025)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Advances in Mental Health

What CAS zone is Advances in Mental Health in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Advances in Mental Health is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Psychiatry. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Advances in Mental Health?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.8 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.7, h-index 47.

How long does peer review take at Advances in Mental Health?

Based on the dates recorded on 101 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 234 days (interquartile range 154–363 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 15%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Advances in Mental Health based?

Of the 7 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Australia (6) and Hong Kong, China (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Advances in Mental Health?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Advances in Mental Health is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Is Advances in Mental Health open access, and what is the APC?

Advances in Mental Health is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .