Journal profile · EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Active Learning in Higher Education

ISSN 1469-7874 · eISSN 1741-2625 · SAGE

Active Learning in Higher Education: CAS Zone 1 · Education (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 2.99; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,900; review about 316 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 3.7% (journal website); 37 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.

Impact factor2.99Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 1 · Education2025 upgraded edition, major category · Top journal · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 1 · Education
Review time316 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance
APCUSD 3,900Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance3.7%From the journal's website
Articles per year372025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Active Learning in Higher Education is published by SAGE and is in Zone 1 of Education in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Online and Blended Learning, Evaluation of Teaching Practices and Innovative Teaching and Learning Methods, together about 37% of its articles. Its main subfields are Education. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Active Learning in Higher Education is a leading international publication for all those who teach and support learning in higher education and those who undertake or use research into effective learning, teaching and assessment in universities and colleges.View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): EDUCATION & EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH

Editor-in-chief Sinéad McNallyPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 6, United Kingdom 5, Australia 5, Ireland 4, Germany 2 (28 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Online and Blended LearningSocial Sciences15.3%
  2. Evaluation of Teaching PracticesSocial Sciences13%
  3. Innovative Teaching and Learning MethodsPsychology8.7%
  4. Reflective Practices in EducationSocial Sciences8.3%
  5. Student Assessment and FeedbackSocial Sciences7%
  6. Innovative Teaching MethodsSocial Sciences6.8%
  7. Higher Education Practises and EngagementSocial Sciences5.5%
  8. Communication in Education and HealthcarePsychology3.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Education Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 1
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 2

Top journal: yesReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Education Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 1
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Education Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorEducationZone 1
MinorEducation & Educational ResearchZone 1

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SSCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
2.99LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
3.4Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
5.2Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
13.9LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
2.08LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
3.67LetPub ·
h-index
93OpenAlex ·
i10-index
386OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
3OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
34.04%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
36LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 693 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026352012
2025371978
20243317225
20232913275
20223410591
2021136423

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

316 dayssubmission to acceptance

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Acceptance rate (publisher)
3.7%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
6 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
108 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
316 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
43 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,900 / GBP 2,859——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Other fees
No other fees
Submission fee
No submission fee

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 300 words
Manuscript length
≤ 7,500 words
Reference style
APA
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Optional
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted6
  1. articleArticles: The suggested word count for an article is up to 7500 words.Length not stated
  2. hypothesisPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Articles: The suggested word count for an article is up to…Length not stated
  3. registered reportPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Articles: The suggested word count for an article is up to…Length not stated
  4. registered reportsRegistered Reports: These allow you to submit a prospective manuscript for a study that you have not yet run.Length not stated
  5. replication studiesReplication Studies: In research it is often said that “one study is just one study.”Length not stated
  6. reviewPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Articles: The suggested word count for an article is up to…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints
Authorship Authorship

Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. As a condition of publication authors are required to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data availability statement. This sho…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

There are no fees payable to submit or publish in this journal. Figures submitted in color will be published in color in the online version of the journal at no cost. For specifically requested colour reproduction in print, you will receive information regarding the costs from Sage after receipt of your accepted article. Optional open access publishing is available for a fee via the Sage Choice pr…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency:Double-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk reject…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE
ISSN
1469-7874
Electronic ISSN
1741-2625
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Active Learning in Higher Education

What CAS zone is Active Learning in Higher Education in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Active Learning in Higher Education is in Zone 1 of Education, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Education & Educational Research; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Education. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Active Learning in Higher Education?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.99; CiteScore 13.9, h-index 93.

How long does peer review take at Active Learning in Higher Education?

The publisher reports about 316 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 3.7%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Active Learning in Higher Education?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 7,500 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Active Learning in Higher Education based?

Of the 28 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (6), United Kingdom (5) and Australia (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Active Learning in Higher Education?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Active Learning in Higher Education is indexed in SSCI and Scopus.

Is Active Learning in Higher Education open access, and what is the APC?

Active Learning in Higher Education is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,900.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .