Journal profile · RADIOLOGY, NUCLEAR MEDICINE & MEDICAL IMAGING
Acta Radiologica Open
ISSN 2058-4601 · SAGE Publishing · United Kingdom
Acta Radiologica Open: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.9 (journal website); fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 119 days to acceptance (47 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 34.1% (journal website); 30 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Acta Radiologica Open is published by SAGE Publishing and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Advanced X-ray and CT Imaging, Radiation Dose and Imaging and MRI in cancer diagnosis, together about 21.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Radiology, Nuclear Medicine and Imaging. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Acta Radiologica Open is an online-only, peer reviewed, open access journal. Articles published in the journal include original case reports, short reports, review articles, pictorial reviews, and research articles on diagnostic and interventional radiology, clinical radiology, experimental investigations in animals, and all other research related to imaging procedures. Acta … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): RADIOLOGY, NUCLEAR MEDICINE & MEDICAL IMAGING
Editor-in-chief Lars LönnPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Advanced X-ray and CT ImagingEngineering7.2%
- Radiation Dose and ImagingMedicine7%
- MRI in cancer diagnosisMedicine7%
- Advanced MRI Techniques and ApplicationsMedicine5.6%
- Digital Radiography and Breast ImagingMedicine5.6%
- Radiology practices and educationMedicine5.2%
- Sarcoma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine4.3%
- Medical Imaging Techniques and ApplicationsMedicine4.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 0.9Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 1.2Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 27OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 177OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 30LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 568 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 15 | 15 | 5 |
| 2025 | 30 | 30 | 20 |
| 2024 | 24 | 24 | 44 |
| 2023 | 25 | 25 | 84 |
| 2022 | 55 | 55 | 274 |
| 2021 | 63 | 63 | 409 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
119 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 57 days – 157 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 16 days (47 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 138 days
- Sample
- 47 articles with submission and acceptance dates (47 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 34.1%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 124 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 15 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 12 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | GBP 800 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,023 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 800 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 1,150 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
Article types accepted11
- case reportActa Radiologica Open publishes original articles, education articles, case reports, reviews, pictorial essays and Technique (CT/MR).Protocol articlesProtocol a…Length not stated
- case reportsActa Radiologica Open publishes original articles, education articles, case reports, reviews, pictorial essays and Technique (CT/MR).Length not stated
- education articlesActa Radiologica Open publishes original articles, education articles, case reports, reviews, pictorial essays and Technique (CT/MR).Length not stated
- original articleActa Radiologica Open publishes original articles, education articles, case reports, reviews, pictorial essays and Technique (CT/MR).Protocol articlesProtocol a…Length not stated
- original articlesActa Radiologica Open publishes original articles, education articles, case reports, reviews, pictorial essays and Technique (CT/MR).Length not stated
- pictorial essaysActa Radiologica Open publishes original articles, education articles, case reports, reviews, pictorial essays and Technique (CT/MR).Length not stated
- protocolActa Radiologica Open publishes original articles, education articles, case reports, reviews, pictorial essays and Technique (CT/MR).Protocol articlesProtocol a…Length not stated
- protocol articlesProtocol manuscripts should report planned or ongoing radiological research studies.Length not stated
- reviewActa Radiologica Open publishes original articles, education articles, case reports, reviews, pictorial essays and Technique (CT/MR).Protocol articlesProtocol a…Length not stated
- reviewsActa Radiologica Open publishes original articles, education articles, case reports, reviews, pictorial essays and Technique (CT/MR).Length not stated
- technique (ct/mr)Acta Radiologica Open publishes original articles, education articles, case reports, reviews, pictorial essays and Technique (CT/MR).Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship 4.2 Authorship
It is the policy of Acta Radiologica Open that only one author may be listed as the corresponding author.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics 5.1 Publication ethics
Papers reporting animal or human studies must include a statement confirming written approval from the relevant institutional review board (IRB) or ethics committee. Model summary
Sage is committed to upholding the integrity of the academic record. We encourage authors to refer to the Committee on Publication Ethics’ International Standards for Authors and view the Publication Ethics page on the Sage Author Gateway.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access 1. Open Access
Acta Radiologica Open is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. Each article accepted by peer review is made freely available online immediately upon publication, is published under a Creative Commons license and will be hosted online in perpetuity. Publication costs of the journal are covered by the collection of article processing charges which are paid by the funder, institution or author of ea…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review 4.1 Peer review policy
Author-suggested reviewers are not permitted at any stage of the submission process. Model summary
Sage does not permit the use of author-suggested (recommended) reviewers at any stage of the submission process, be that through the web-based submission system or other communication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines 4.8 Reporting guidelines
The relevant EQUATOR Network reporting guidelines should be followed depending on the type of study. For example, all randomized controlled trials submitted for publication should include a completed CONSORT flow chart as a cited figure and the completed CONSORT checklist should be uploaded with your submission as a supplementary file. Systematic reviews and meta-analyses should include the comple…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publishing
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2058-4601
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Acta Radiologica Open
What CAS zone is Acta Radiologica Open in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Acta Radiologica Open is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Acta Radiologica Open?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.9; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; h-index 27.
How long does peer review take at Acta Radiologica Open?
Based on the dates recorded on 47 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 119 days (interquartile range 57–157 days); authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 34.1%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index Acta Radiologica Open?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Acta Radiologica Open is indexed in ESCI and DOAJ.
Is Acta Radiologica Open open access, and what is the APC?
Acta Radiologica Open is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .