Journal profile · Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging
Acta Radiologica
ISSN 0284-1851 · eISSN 1600-0455 · SAGE Publications Ltd · SWEDEN · Bimonthly · Founded 1987
Acta Radiologica: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.15; subscription journal; APC about USD 4,150; review about 151 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); community-reported acceptance: easy; 157 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Acta Radiologica is published by SAGE Publications Ltd and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Advanced MRI Techniques and Applications, MRI in cancer diagnosis and Radiation Dose and Imaging, together about 24.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Radiology, Nuclear Medicine and Imaging. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Acta Radiologica publishes articles from all parts of the world and covers all aspects of radiology, from clinical radiology to experimental work. Published by the societies of medical radiology in Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden, it is known for articles … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging
Editor-in-chief Lars LönnPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 4%); most named Denmark 7, United Kingdom 5, Japan 2, South Korea 2, Germany 2 (27 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Advanced MRI Techniques and ApplicationsMedicine8.9%
- MRI in cancer diagnosisMedicine8.5%
- Radiation Dose and ImagingMedicine7.3%
- Medical Imaging Techniques and ApplicationsMedicine5.5%
- Advanced X-ray and CT ImagingEngineering5.5%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.5%
- Cardiac Imaging and DiagnosticsMedicine4.7%
- Radiomics and Machine Learning in Medical ImagingMedicine4.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.15LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.2Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 1.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.41LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.58LetPub ·
- h-index
- 66LetPub ·
- h-index
- 101OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 4,298OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.33OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 8.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 3.39%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 156LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 18,723 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 75 | 5 | 6 |
| 2025 | 157 | 12 | 163 |
| 2024 | 171 | 23 | 366 |
| 2023 | 161 | 18 | 606 |
| 2022 | 205 | 28 | 1,038 |
| 2021 | 248 | 32 | 1,880 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
151 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports 3–8 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- 3–8 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 13.3%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 15 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 151 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 35 daysPublisher website ·
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,150 / GBP 3,043 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted5
- correspondenceActa Radiologica publishes original articles, review articles, short communications, and technical and instrumental notes. Manuscripts dealing with full-length …Length not stated
- original articleActa Radiologica publishes original articles, review articles, short communications, and technical and instrumental notes. Manuscripts dealing with full-length …Length not stated
- review articleActa Radiologica publishes original articles, review articles, short communications, and technical and instrumental notes. Manuscripts dealing with full-length …Length not stated
- short communicationActa Radiologica publishes original articles, review articles, short communications, and technical and instrumental notes. Manuscripts dealing with full-length …Length not stated
- technical and instrumental noteActa Radiologica publishes original articles, review articles, short communications, and technical and instrumental notes.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship 2.2 Authorship
It is the policy of Acta Radiologica that only one author may be listed as the corresponding author.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Research data availability is acknowledged as an integral part of the research and verification process. Model summary
Sage acknowledges the importance of research data availability as an integral part of the research and verification process for academic journal articles.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics 3.1 Publication ethics
Papers reporting animal or human studies must include a statement confirming written approval from the relevant IRB or ethics committee. Model summary
Sage is committed to upholding the integrity of the academic record. We encourage authors to refer to the Committee on Publication Ethics’ International Standards for Authors and view the Publication Ethics page on the Sage Author Gateway.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access 3.3 Open access and author archiving
Optional open access publishing is available via the Sage Choice programme and Open Access agreements. Model summary
Acta Radiologica offers optional open access publishing via the Sage Choice programme and Open Access agreements, where authors can publish open access either discounted or free of charge depending on the agreement with Sage. Find out if your institution is participating by visiting Open Access Agreements at Sage. For more information on Open Access publishing options at Sage please visit Sage Ope…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review 2.1 Peer review policy
Author-suggested reviewers are not permitted at any stage of the submission process. Model summary
Sage does not permit the use of author-suggested (recommended) reviewers at any stage of the submission process, be that through the web-based submission system or other communication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
The preferred manuscript format is Word. Model summary
The preferred format for your manuscript is Word.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines 2.8 Reporting guidelines
The relevant EQUATOR Network reporting guidelines should be followed depending on the type of study. For example, all randomized controlled trials submitted for publication should include a completed CONSORT flow chart as a cited figure and the completed CONSORT checklist should be uploaded with your submission as a supplementary file. Systematic reviews and meta-analyses should include the comple…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publications Ltd
- Country or region
- SWEDEN
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1987
- ISSN
- 0284-1851
- Electronic ISSN
- 1600-0455
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Acta Radiologica
What CAS zone is Acta Radiologica in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Acta Radiologica is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Radiology, Nuclear Medicine & Medical Imaging. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Acta Radiologica?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.15; CiteScore 3, h-index 101.
How long does peer review take at Acta Radiologica?
The publisher reports about 151 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of 3–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 13.3%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Acta Radiologica based?
Of the 27 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 4%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Denmark (7), United Kingdom (5) and Japan (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Acta Radiologica?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Acta Radiologica is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Acta Radiologica open access, and what is the APC?
Acta Radiologica is a subscription journal. APC about USD 4,150.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .