Journal profile · Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine
Acta Odontologica Scandinavica
ISSN 0001-6357 · eISSN 1502-3850 · Informa Healthcare · NORWAY · Bimonthly · Founded 1939
Acta Odontologica Scandinavica: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.73; fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 147 days to acceptance (93 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 86 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Acta Odontologica Scandinavica is published by Informa Healthcare and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Oral microbiology and periodontitis research, Dental Health and Care Utilization and Dental materials and restorations, together about 32.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Orthodontics and Oral Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Acta Odontologica Scandinavica aims to disseminate new knowledge across all areas of oral health, oral disease, and biomaterials science. The journal publishes Open Access original research articles and critical state-of-the-art reviews relevant to: Diagnosis Epidemiology Health services research Prevention Etiology Pathogenesis Pathology Physiology Microbiology Development and treatment of oral diseases Oral biomaterials Biomaterial development and clinical applications Priority is given to hypothesis-driven analytical studies and to experimental and observational investigations that address causal or associative relationships. Submissions are expected to demonstrate rigorous methodology and robust study design appropriate for testing the stated hypotheses. Short Communications and Letters to the Editor are also considered. Case Reports are not accepted.Intended ReadershipThe journal is intended for researchers and scientists in oral health and disease sciences, biomaterials science, and for oral healthcare professionals, including clinicians and allied dental personnel.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine
Editor-in-chief Pekka VallittuPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Sweden 2, Poland 1, Norway 1, Finland 1 (5 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Oral microbiology and periodontitis researchDentistry11.7%
- Dental Health and Care UtilizationDentistry11.7%
- Dental materials and restorationsDentistry9.3%
- Dental Radiography and ImagingDentistry6.2%
- Dental Erosion and TreatmentDentistry6%
- Endodontics and Root Canal TreatmentsDentistry5.8%
- Temporomandibular Joint DisordersHealth Professions5.6%
- Orthodontics and Dentofacial OrthopedicsDentistry5.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.73LetPub ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.56LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.98LetPub ·
- h-index
- 58LetPub ·
- h-index
- 135OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2,985OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5.9%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 99.52%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 78LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 4,509 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 78 | 78 | 16 |
| 2025 | 86 | 86 | 194 |
| 2024 | 76 | 76 | 269 |
| 2023 | 58 | 58 | 345 |
| 2022 | 80 | 80 | 819 |
| 2021 | 85 | 85 | 930 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
147 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 87 days – 210 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 33 days (95 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 184 days
- Sample
- 93 articles with submission and acceptance dates (178 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 6–12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 26 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 2,150 | Yes | CC BY |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 3
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 5,500 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- letters to the editorLetters to the EditorLength not stated
- original articlesOriginal articlesLength not stated
- original paperour paper. There are no word limits for Original papers in this journal but it is recommended that the main text should be no more than 5,500 words (not includi…main text ≤ 5,500 words
- research articlesResearch articlesLength not stated
- reviewsReviewsLength not stated
- short communicationsShort CommunicationsLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteConflicts of interest, Open access, Peer review
- Conflicts of interest Disclosure Statement
Please include a disclosure statement, using the subheading “Disclosure of interest.” If you have no interests to declare, please state this (suggested wording: The authors report there are no competing interests to declare). For all NIH/Welcome-funded papers, the grant number(s) must be included in the declaration of interest statement.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access under CC-BY 4.0 license. Model summary
Published by Medical Journals Sweden AB (559296-5023) under the terms of the Creative Commons CC-BY 4.0 license.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Peer Review Appeals and Author Complaints Model summary
Peer Review Appeals and Author Complaints
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Informa Healthcare
- Country or region
- NORWAY
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1939
- ISSN
- 0001-6357
- Electronic ISSN
- 1502-3850
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 85 (2026)
- Official links
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Acta Odontologica Scandinavica
What CAS zone is Acta Odontologica Scandinavica in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Acta Odontologica Scandinavica is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Acta Odontologica Scandinavica?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.73; CiteScore 3.3, h-index 135.
How long does peer review take at Acta Odontologica Scandinavica?
Based on the dates recorded on 93 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 147 days (interquartile range 87–210 days); authors report an average review time of 6–12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Acta Odontologica Scandinavica?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Keywords: ≥ 3; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,500 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Acta Odontologica Scandinavica based?
Of the 5 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Sweden (2), Poland (1) and Norway (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Acta Odontologica Scandinavica?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Acta Odontologica Scandinavica is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Acta Odontologica Scandinavica open access, and what is the APC?
Acta Odontologica Scandinavica is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, DOAJ, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .