Journal profile · Medicine-Neurology (clinical)
Acta Epileptologica
ISSN 2524-4434 · BMC · United Kingdom
Acta Epileptologica: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.6 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,690; median 133 days to acceptance (78 articles, last 24 months); 49 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Acta Epileptologica is published by BMC and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Epilepsy research and treatment, Pharmacological Effects and Toxicity Studies and Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology Research, together about 51.4% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Acta Epileptologica is dedicated to advancing people’s understanding of epilepsy by providing a forum to share the latest research. The main focus of the journal covers all aspects related to epilepsy, topics include but are not limited to basic research, practical management of epilepsy, neuroimaging, therapeutic trials, case report, social and psychological burden. In addition to the mechanisms of epileptogenesis, broader comorbidities of epilepsy, new treatments and their measures.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Neurology (clinical)
Editor-in-chief Shichuo LiPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 25 in mainland China (about 56%); most named Mainland China 25, United States 3, United Kingdom 3, Germany 3, South Korea 2 (45 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Epilepsy research and treatmentMedicine31.4%
- Pharmacological Effects and Toxicity StudiesMedicine10.9%
- Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology ResearchNeuroscience9.1%
- EEG and Brain-Computer InterfacesNeuroscience5.6%
- Metabolism and Genetic DisordersBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.1%
- Genetics and Neurodevelopmental DisordersBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.7%
- Diet and metabolism studiesMedicine3.7%
- Neurological disorders and treatmentsMedicine3.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EmbasePublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.6Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.4LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.35LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.53LetPub ·
- h-index
- 17OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 36OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.66OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 3.8%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 45LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 306,800Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 267 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 34 | 34 | 15 |
| 2025 | 49 | 49 | 147 |
| 2024 | 44 | 44 | 176 |
| 2023 | 32 | 32 | 295 |
| 2022 | 42 | 42 | 185 |
| 2021 | 32 | 32 | 284 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
133 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 87 days – 184 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 54 days (78 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 197 days
- Sample
- 78 articles with submission and acceptance dates (98 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 20 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 7 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 20 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | EUR 2,290 / USD 2,690 / GBP 1,990 | No | CC BY | |
| OpenAlex | USD 0 | — | — | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 1,990 / USD 2,690 / EUR 2,290 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers2, by deadline
- Brain Tumor-Related EpilepsyDeadline
- Epilepsy ComorbiditiesDeadline
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted6
- case reportFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research Review Case Report Correspondence Consensus Article CommentLength not stated
- commentFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research Review Case Report Correspondence Consensus Article CommentLength not stated
- consensus articleFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research Review Case Report Correspondence Consensus Article CommentLength not stated
- correspondenceFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research Review Case Report Correspondence Consensus Article CommentLength not stated
- researchFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research Review Case Report Correspondence Consensus Article CommentLength not stated
- reviewFormatting guidelines for specific article types can be found below. Research Review Case Report Correspondence Consensus Article CommentLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- AI use Clinical application of artificial intelligence technology in epilepsy
Qi RenYan ZhangJinfeng Zhang Review Open access 10 August 2026 Article: 29
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Formatting the 'Availability of data and materials' section of your manuscript
Data sharing strongly encouraged or required; deposit in public repositories or include in paper/supporting files. Model summary
The following format for the 'Availability of data and materials section of your manuscript should be used:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Licensing and copyright
Open access under CC BY licence (Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International). Model summary
Creative Commons licences Open access articles in Springer Nature journals are published under Creative Commons licences. These provide an industry-standard framework to support easy re-use of open access material. Under Creative Commons licences, authors retain copyright of their articles. Acta Epileptologica articles are published open access under a CC BY licence (Creative Commons Attribution 4…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Benefits of open access
Publishing open access (OA) offers a number of benefits, including greater reach and readership for your work: Cited more 1.6x more citations of OA articles than non-OA articles across all subjects Downloaded more 4x more downloads of OA articles than non-OA articles Greater impact 2.5x more Altmetric attention. OA articles attracted 1.9x more news mentions and 1.2x more policy mentions Open acces…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Authors may suggest potential peer reviewers in cover letter. Model summary
Peer review is the process used to evaluate the quality of a manuscript before publication. Independent researchers in the relevant field assess submitted manuscripts to check their validity and robustness. Their feedback guides editors in making publication decisions. Typically, two or more experts evaluate each manuscript based on three main criteria: scientific robustness: is the research metho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- BMC
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2524-4434
- Print ISSN
- 2096-9384
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Acta Epileptologica
What CAS zone is Acta Epileptologica in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Acta Epileptologica is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Clinical Neurology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Acta Epileptologica?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.6 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.4, h-index 17.
How long does peer review take at Acta Epileptologica?
Based on the dates recorded on 78 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 133 days (interquartile range 87–184 days); authors report an average review time of about 20 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Acta Epileptologica based?
Of the 45 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 25 (about 56%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Mainland China (25), United States (3) and United Kingdom (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Acta Epileptologica?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Acta Epileptologica is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Embase; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Acta Epileptologica open access, and what is the APC?
Acta Epileptologica is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,690.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .